We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Serena Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$159
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$96
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn at the Rock(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterpiece Hotel(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$120
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morro Bay Sandpiper Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayfront Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
$115
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
119
137
35
11
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
137
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesmorro rockincluded breakfast issister hotelsmall hotelspeanut butterapple cidercovered parkinghard boiled eggssecond floornice staybreakfast roomother hotelsbit datedtwo blocksshops and restaurantsclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 309 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was the perfect place to stay along the drive from San Francisco to LA. The front desk staff were welcoming and very helpful with restaurant choices. It was your basic hotel but one can tell they put effort into keeping the place as clean and comfortable as possible. The room itself was a bit cramped for two people. One side of the bed so close to the wall so I had no side table to put on drinks, reading material, clock or remote control. But this is a minor detail. Overall we found the place very appropriate...we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielCho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know we provided you with a clean comfortable stay. We'll be here for you on your next trip to our beautiful area.
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great experience. The hotel is clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly each time we needed something. The room was a decent size and came with a refrigerator and a microwave which were super convenient. Wifi was free, and came in very strong in our room. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 305 is directly across from the patio and the breakfast room. Don't worry people are quiet and we didn't hear anything. The window faces a parking lot for a liquor store so it was quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _CA-LA_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were sent to this inn from a smaller motel that was full and did very well with a mid-week rate.
Nicole was extremely helpful and very friendly. We had a very comfortable, clean king-size room with a step-out balcony and a view of the rock on the third floor. The TV was older, there were lots of channel choices. The fridge was really great, so was the microwave. We liked the two sinks in the bathroom area. The only negative about the room is the very noisy fan in the bathroom, which automatically comes on with the light. There should be two switches.
The breakfast on the whole could have more choices, that there were two good waffle irons was helpful. The sheltered patio of the breakfast area is a nice place to have breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We are happy to know that you were happy with your stay. Come see us again and be sure to call us directly for a great rate and the exact type room you'd like.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in La Serena Inn this time last year for the Morro Bay Harbour Festival and had a great stay so we decided to return this year, once again we had a great stay, the rooms are a good size, very clean and tidy, with everything in them you need, ok its a bit dated but who cares if its clean, tidy and comfy that I can confirm it is, the breakfast is a standard continental breakfast that consists of pastries, waffles, cereal, eggs etc, so no complaints there. The staff are the best asset to this hotel, always friendly and happy to help.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NicolaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing us again for your lodging needs. We are happy to know we once again provided you with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you at the next Harbor Festival.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pros: friendly staff, great location, value for money

Cons: room a bit dated, no sea view (although promised)

We stayed for one night at the hotel in Sept 2013 and paid ~£55 for a double room with a bay view.

Overall impression is that its a good hotel which offers value for money. Our room was really clean, was big with a large comfortable bed. I've read in other reviews that the beds were higher off the ground than normal and ours was too - a bit strange but wasnt a problem and wasnt significantly higher than usual. If anything, the room decor looked a little dated in style (but was clean and didnt appear worn at all) but this wasnt a problem. We also payed £5 more when we booked for a bay view room but we couldnt see much through our window!! Nevermind - the hotel and room were still value for money, clean and quiet.

Location of the hotel was great - we loved morro bay itself, such a quiet (except for the sealions) and beautiful place! Hotel was 2mins walk to the front of shops/restaurants and was really close to and easy to find from route 1. Hotel also had ample parking off-street for free.

Otherwise breakfast was ok - standard continental breakfast with reasonable choice. Also all the staff we met were really friendly and made us feel welcome! We also loved all the info about the local wildlife in the room which would be really useful if you were to take advantage of some of the walks/nature areas around morro bay.

Overall a good stay in a hotel that offered value for money!

Room Tip: If you book bay view, make sure you get one!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_and_Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay. We always recommend calling us directly for the exact room type you desire and for the best rate.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews