We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Property in a Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monterey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Property in a Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was the second time that I stayed at this hotel. Stayed on the second floor, room 217. It was a King room that looked south and had a balcony. The only bad part about that was it also looked out on a parking lot of the Rabobank and the drive-up teller window. Not a big deal though.
I like staying here for the free breakfast. They have a waffle maker and who, in their right mind, does not love a waffle maker? They also have cereals, fruit, coffee and juice, pastries, etc.
The room has a microwave oven and small refrigerator which is very handy. The free wi-fi is a good plus too! It worked flawlessly for me during the entire stay. The hotel is within walking distance of "downtown" and the water with all the restaurants from which to choose.
If you want a nicer view, get a room that looks directly at Morro Rock. There were a few little details about the room that I did not like but my traveling companion told me not to mention them because I would sound like a nit picker. So I will not mention them.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks directly at Morro Rock and you'll be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We were so happy to know that you enjoy the waffles as much as we do. Be sure to call us direct so we can get into a room with a view of the rock next time.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    119
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
127
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. It is very nicely decorated with pictures of birds (it's called the bird watcher's hotel). You can even borrow binoculars! The rooms are large, nicely furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is in a nice large room. They even gave us a loyalty discount on our second stay. It is within walking distance to the water and shopping. We will be returning here often!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martonl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Come back and stay with us in January for our Winter Bird Festival here in Morro Bay. Call us direct for your favorite room. We look forward to seeing you again.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This room was on the 3rd floor (a no pet floor, but a guy was walking his dog down the hall) and had a nice balcony with a full view of bay and rock. I think the room was 315...a corner suite. comfortable sofa, flar screen tv, fireplace, nice bathroom, fridge. A bit dated, but clean and acceptable for the price, I guess. Kids watching action movie next door and sound really came through the wall.Fortunately they were not up late. Same children running around breakfast room in the morning prompted me to take my meal back to the room. Only thing "special" about the breakfast was the waffles, which were good. The attendant to this breakfast room was on cellphone every time I was there. I don't think it was business. Good parking, nice desk staff. Oh...and the bed was the most comfortable one that we have ever slept on! I think it was a memory foam brand name.

Room Tip: Third floor is high enough to get a good view. Corner room (315 I think) had full view of bay &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
The staff at the La Serena Inn thanks you for your input. Since your stay we have retrained our breakfast staff. We look forward to providing you with another good night's sleep on your next visit to our beautiful area.
Best regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Decent sized room, clean, and good location. Second sink in the shower/toilet area helpful when travelling with family. Fridge also good to have. Wifi was a bit unreliable though, but the kids always enjoy making their own waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
The staff of the La Serena Inn thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your enjoyable stay. We also offer rooms for your 4 legged family members.

Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

While visiting the area, we decided to stay overnight and didn't have a reservation and stopped in at La Serena Inn. The front desk clerk was really nice and helpful. The front lobby area was nice and clean with beverages and cookies. Definitely request a room on the bay side of the facility. We were originally given a room that overlooked the parking lot for the liquor store. However, the front desk clerk was more than willing to switch and it was worth it. We woke up with a view of Morro Rock.

The rooms are average and clean. The decor could use a little updating.

Overall our stay was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the bay side of the facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy to know we provided you with an enjoyable stay. Your right the view of Morro Rock in the morning is special. We look forward to providing you with excellent customer service again on your next visit.

Best regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is nicer then most hotels in Morro Bay. This place is clean but could use a little updating. it's 2 blocks from the Main Street, but easy to walk to. Beds are comfortable, and they have a coffee machines, micro-waves and refrigerators in all rooms. They have separate rooms for pet friendly people., But best of all they have a continental breakfast. I had a small problem with the girl taking care of the breakfast area. I was trying to make a waffle in the waffle machine but the batter wasn't coming out of the dispenser. I went to the girl who was in another room and on her cell phone and asked for help. she blew me off by saying "just push the button" I had already done that and it wasn't working. After trying again and getting no where, I went back and said" could you come out and fix this" she reluctantly did, and I finally got my waffle, but I was upset. When I checked out, the girl at the front desk asked if I had any problems so I told her the story. Hopefully they will train there people that the hotel guests come first,, and not the cell phone.

Room Tip: if you don't have a pet -.don't take the pet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
The staff at the La Serena Inn would like to apologize for the negative breakfast experience. Be assured your experience is not typical of the service given at the La Serena. Our General Manager has been notified and will address the issue. Thank you for your input, we hope you will return and give us another chance for a more pleasant breakfast.

Regards, La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My fiance and I made a last minute decision to head to the coast for President's weekend. We found La Serena Inn because it was pet friendly. This hotel was great for what we needed and we will be back!

Room Tip: We had a view with a partial view of the famous Morro Rock. We enjoyed the view very much! Even if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pet lovers ourselves and were so happy that we could provide lodging for both you and your pet. We'll be here for you on your next visit to our beautiful area.

La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Morro Bay
Days Inn Morro Bay
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing