We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galley Seafood Grill & Bar

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Found this restaurant through TA review and decided to have dinner there on our first night in Morro Bay. Overall, it was a great experience. The view of Morro Rock from there was breathtaking. Our waitress(Jennifer) was very nice and attentive. The food was phenomenal. My wife had Shrimp Scampi and I had the Ahi Tuna(Seared Rare). Both plates were very good. Be sure to order the Clam Chowder as well. The only small drawback was that the restroom is a public shared restroom. Although it was cleaner than what you would expect for a restroom at the beach, it was something that you should be prepared for. Over all, Galley Seafood Grill & Bar is a great date night or family night dinner spot.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Midnight_ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    962
    262
    53
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food/great service. The pan seared scallops were wonderful! They also had a lot of good wine choices available.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to celebrate your birthday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went here for my husbands birthday, we all really enjoyed it. They put your name in the menu if you tell them its for a birthday. Totally cute idea and makes for a memorable experience. The food was very good, I had the halibut, which was meaty and lightly seasoned. My son had the filet which he said was very good, my husband had the yellow fin tuna and said it was delicious. The desserts where so good as well! My husband got a free one for his birthday, he chose the apple crisp. I had the mud pie which was to die for! We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome seafood and cozy experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I decided to eat here after reviews at tripadvisor. We were 30 minutes late but luckily our table was still available. I had the scallops with mashed potatoes and squash and asparagus. It was mouth watering delicious. My wife had the salmon which she thoroughly enjoyed. For a cozy romantic dinner this place would be hard to beat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank imonboard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, service and view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

A good friend of mine whose name is Jimmy suggested a restaurant for us to go to while vacationing in California. While staying at the Madonna Inn we decided to take a ride to Morro Bay.

When we entered the Galley Restaurant everyone made us feel right at home, we were sat at a table by the windows overlooking a beautiful bay. The waitress was very attentive (not hovering), she explained the menu and how the food is prepared.

We then ordered the calamari appetizer as well as the shrimp app. which were great! For dinner we ordered the Rock Fish, the Caesar salad with chicken and the fish and chips which were all prepared to perfection.

I wish we lived closer, and if we did we would be regulars....Thanks for a great dinner and amazing time...!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markd788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing