We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happening spot in Morro Bay”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Glastonbury,CT
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A happening spot in Morro Bay”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

During a recent trip to California, a friend we met during our hotel stay in Santa Barbara recommended this restaurant after hearing our next destination was near Morro Bay. She had stayed many times at the nearby hotel run by the same family and raved about the Galley. Unfortunately we didn't get to dine in the daylight and enjoy the marina views and Morro Rock, but we did walk around a little since we arrived early for our reservation and heard the harbor seals from the nearby rock.
The restaurant has many tables lining the windows and the daytime view can be enjoyed by most diners. The decor is clean and airy, and ambiance lively. The place remained crowded until we left which was close to 10.
There is a nice menu selection with many fresh seafood offerings. I had the swordfish while my husband sampled the sea scallops. Both were simply prepared and delicious. Sides were equally yummy.
I would definitively recommend dining in the daylight which I'm sorry we missed. Prices are reasonable, the seafood is fresh, other varied offering are available appealing to those who dont care for seafood and the ambiance is lively.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    278
    55
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just a tad below "Excellent"”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

After years of loyalty to Dorn's Original Breakers we decided to try the Galley based on its outstanding reputation and the fact it was offseason (it is normally extremely crowded). We are very pleased that we did.

We were greeted enthusiastically upon arrival, our reservation was promptly acknowledged and we were seated immediately at a desirable window table--though the view is somewhat limited at 7:45 p.m. this time of year. Our server was attentive and our cocktails were excellent. Both of us ordered pan seared scallops accompanied by sautéed asparagus and rice pilaf. The scallops were cooked to perfection which we have found not to be the case in many supposedly excellent seafood restaurants. The asparagus, though very skinny, was quite good . . . very basic, butter, salt, pepper. The pilaf was "OK" but a bit disappointing in that it was too moist and seemed to us to have originated in a commercial package as opposed to being distinctive and homemade. But all in all the dinner and the overall dining experience was most rewarding. The manager stopped by our table to make sure our dinner met our expectations and our waiter's service was excellent throughout. If you like fresh fish well prepared you should greatly enjoy the Galley.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you like fresh Seafood prepared just right, if you like a great staff, a clean place, a great view of "the RocK", not outrageous prices, then this is your place. Suggest reservations on the weekends. We arrived a little after they open for dinner at 5. We were able to get a small window table but a few minutes later there were people having to sit at the bar for dinner. The Chowder, salads, crab cakes and fish were excellent. The dinner with a half bottle of wine ($25 for Rombauger) and a beer was $75.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
252 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Love their clean preparation and value…..”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The chef here has the seafood preparation down pat. Freshest of fish, cleanly grilled with a brush of butter and seasoning, offered with a choice of three sauces/salsas, served with a choice of equally fresh sides. What could be better! For one, the prices are less than one would pay in a big city venue for far less product. For another, the view of the harbor and Morro Rock at sunset is priceless.

PS….the half-shell oysters and salads really shine too. Service was efficiently attentive. Varied and well-priced wine list. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roamingnoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Seafood!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband-to-be and I were on our way up to Big Sur for our marriage/honeymoon. We stayed the night in Morro Bay. My grandma use to live in Morro Bay and I have a lot of great memories from when I was a little girl. A wonderful little fishing town. Anyways, after we checked into our hotel, we decided to think about dinner. So I "GOOGLED" restaurants in Morro Bay and Galley Seafood Grill & Bar came up first. Sounded good to us. Reservations ARE recommended. So I called, got a reservation for 7pm that evening (2 hours from when I called). We found the place super easy. Found parking easily. It was packed in there. Its a really beautiful location. Right ON the water and Morro Rock is in perfect view. We were seated right away. The service was GREAT. The place feels very high-end, but all the customers were dressed very casual.
I cant say enough about the food. We started with the Seared Scallops. FABULOUS!! We ordered from the "NAKED FISH" portion of the menu. Its the fish served with two sides. I had the Halibut and my fiance had the Hawaiian Ahi (Seared rare). It was easily one of the best seafood meals we have ever had. Now, we thought the price of the food was good. We paid $26-$30 per person (not counting the appetizer and drinks). So our check was around $100 (including tip...the service was spot on.) It was the food AND the ambience of the place. Perfect and Romantic. Our whole experience in Morro Bay was great. We have our Anniversary trip already reserved for next year. We will be stopping in Morro Bay AND Galley Seafood Grill & Bar again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilmlcPeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing