We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is great - view, food, staff. The best.”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Morro Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything is great - view, food, staff. The best.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Galley is one of the best places on the waterfront in Morro Bay. Right on the water, beautiful view, beautiful ambience, the waitstaff takes great care of you. You can go there for lunch, and for maybe $1 or $2 more than you'd pay for average fish and chips down the street, you can get luscious blackened fish tacos with lots of fresh greens. The ceviche is one of my favorites! Delicious, beautifully prepared food that somehow manages to also feel healthy, probably because most dishes are served with fresh fruits and vegetables in imaginative ways. It's a great place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jthomasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    285
    56
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Second time, equally as great.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One year on and I returned to the Galley for another dose of well cooked fish. I was not disappointed. The Sea bass was superb and perfectly cooked (translucent). Wine list exceptionally good value with a great cross section of US/World Wines and great prices. The Maître D’ recognised me from last time which was also nice. Go..you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing experience!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The previous reviewer wrote in such a great way, what I have to say, so I will only add my few personal details and say thank you Cheryl for your articulation! My experience was the same :)

What a wonderful surprise as we pulled into Morro Bay for "just a lunch" & I quickly checked Trip Advisor and found this number one hit. This was not just a lunch it was an experience. From the views of the rock and water, and seals playing right outside the window, to our delicious food, to Shari our very informative, friendly & fun server......wonderful! We had a local white wine (Sauvignon Blanc), scallops and the local catch (swordfish) salad. I'll add a few food photos too. And an added bonus...., Shari offered & brought us a little extra bread for soaking up the sauce from the scallops as it would be a crime to leave it behind and embarrassing to lick the plate!

One of our highlight memories of our trip up North! What a nice surprise!

Helpful?
Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Little 17 table gem of a restaurant on the Embarcadero. Popped in for lunch, they were busy, but we eye-balled a table for 2 facing the water and the server cheerily told us it would be ours in a few. Small and tidy bar area entertained us with a two way monitor where you can watch the talented kitchen working away - even more intriguing, they can watch YOU. Talk about an interactive experience! Light and airy, intimate. Servers so efficient, they rattle off a full retinue of specials with detailed descriptions like nothing. Sipped a bottle of Tolosa Chardonnay (excellent at $24, fresh and satisfying) during the short wait for our order and watched the free otter and seal show playing out in the harbor, so cool! The red snapper was just outstanding, and we had that along with a delicious salad special. As we snuck peeks at other tables we were struck by the beautiful presentation and freshness of every dish we saw. Don't even think about doing a walk in/sit down for a week-end dinner. Reservations are accepted and recommended. What a jewel of a spot

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's # 1”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wonderful, small, intimate restaurant right on the water. Beautiful views of Morro rock and the bay. And the food is excellent. We go regularly and have never been disappointed. Get a reservation, because people line up at the door at opening time to get in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasAquinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing