We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morro Bay's best”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Deming
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Morro Bay's best”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Consistently rated among the top 5 of Morro Bay's finer dining experiences, in my opinion The Galley is now number 1. The fish dishes are always the freshest of the fresh, superbly cooked and presented. The restaurant's "naked fish" philosophy, where fish are not overwhelmed with sauces and seasonings, allows the essence of the sea to shine through, especially in the local catch-of-the-day offerings. On a recent visit, the local sea bass was superb and the sauteed scallops always shine. Accompaniments include a choice of sides such as rice pilaf, assorted grilled vegetables and grilled asparagus, all "real" and not from a frozen bag! A mixed greens salad starter was refreshing and interesting, and a creme brulee desert was satisfying. Our last visit was during "Restaurant Month" when a 3-course meal was offered for $30. My only complaint was that my after-dinner coffee seemed a little watery and stale, more like truck stop fare. The ambience is lovely night and day, with a glorious bay and rock view in the day and a warm, inviting atmosphere at night. Greeters, barpersons and servers are friendly and knowledgeable. The wine list includes affordable items as well as high end. Enjoy:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarilynDeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    279
    55
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivanhoe, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“fish and chips delight”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I were just wanting some fish and chips and were hoping for some better than we had the last time we were in Morro Bay. Decided to try the Galley. The fish and chips were a tad more than other places at Morro Bay on the Embarcadero but they were great. Lightly breaded and very flakey with no oily feeling. The fries were the shoestring type but had a very good flavor and just the right crispness. We tried the clam chowder and it was not too tasty and the potato in it was a little hard. I will say the service was what you would like to have, treating you like family. I'm sure we will go back and maybe try some of the other items on the menu. As it is on the Embarcadero the parking could be a little slim.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred3235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best fresh fish ever!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Every time we come to San Luis Obispo, we always go to Morro Bay to the Galley for lunch. We love the window table of the bay during day light hours, and the prices are a little cheaper than at dinner. This place is not cheap, but the quality of the fish is worth every penny! The salad made with fresh greens topped with the fresh catch of the day grilled to perfection is always to die for. You won't find fish any fresher and tastier than at the Galley. Reservations are a good idea.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food was average to me. Husband had the scallop dinner, they were pretty small and good but nothing great. I had the shrimp scampi, a little tough, just ok. We didn't really like the clam chowder, not much flavor. Maybe we are just spoiled, being from the Monterey Bay with lots of delicious seafood, idk! No restroom inside, had to go out in the freezing cold and use public restroom. Restaurant is really small, and lots of noisy babies on a late saturday night which I though was odd for a nice restaurant. Wouldn't return. Many other better places to eat in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore,CA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Naked Fish!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Th Galley occupies part of the ground floor of the Anderson Inn (great place to stay - reviewed separately). Their menu proclaims their approach to fish - best served naked (sauces on the side). I had the naked swordfish, mango salsa on the side. The fish was so good, the sauce was totally unnecessary. Probably the best swordfish I have ever had, perfectly cooked, moist and flaky. The dinner included two sides: I had garlic mashed potatoes (good) and grilled asparagus (really good). Hubby had scallops (really good), the asparagus and rice pilaf which he described as the best, most flavorful, pilaf he has ever had. They feature local seafood and produce as much as possible. The service was impecabble - attentive but not intrusive. They make a pretty good mai tai, too. This is an outstanding restaurant which compliments the lovely inn which sits above it.

Helpful?
2 Thank trippingtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing