We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sun City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place has been around a long time, has a great rep, and lives up to it. Service is excellent w/out being intrusive. Food was very good, well prepared, fresh and well presented. Given the location, the prices were very reasonable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spyderman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    268
    73
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
369 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had lunch at Dorn's on the Saturday after Thanksgiving. Two of us had blackened Red Snapper sandwiches, and two had calamari sandwiches. We also had fried calamari as an appetizer. All of us were happy with our meals, and agreed it was the perfect choice on a beautiful day. With non-alcoholic beverages, the meal cost $87.00.
I will eat here again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have eaten at Dorn's for dinner numerous times over the years, but this was the first time we had been there for breakfast. The food was very good, especially the muffins. Also good were the french toast, potatoes, and zucchini and jack cheese omelet. Dorn's is an expensive choice for dinner, but breakfast is no more expensive than anywhere else. The only drawback is the coffee: terrible and not very hot. I would have rated it a 5 if not for the coffee.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Greeted at the door and seated right away where ever I was comfortable. Nice and relaxing. If you go, be sure to have the clam chowder... The staff is attentive , but not overbearing, which is nice when you want time just enjoy the view. The staff is big on making sure you don't miss the sunset so they lift up the sunshades for a great view...well worth it. The cost is not too expensive and the food is excellent, especially the clam chowder and the lemon cheesecake for dessert. As for appetizers, their zucchini sticks are great!

Helpful?
Thank OccasionalView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Without a reservation we stopped at Dorn's on a Sunday evening and were quickly seated event though there were only a couple of tables unoccupied - something of a surprise on what is traditionally a slow night in the restaurant business. It appeared that many of our fellow diners were locals, not tourists. The menu is comprehensive, the quality of the food was excellent and the service impeccable. Highly recommended..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theedge139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing