We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first visit to Dorn's and we're so glad we came here for breakfast! First, the view from our table was breath taking! Morro Rock and it's surrounding area filled up our window! Next, customer service was top notch. Our waitress was friendly, helpful, and stopped by often to check if we needed anything. Finally, but most important, our food was oh so good!! My husband claimed it was the best breakfast he has ever had! Portions are generous and very flavorful. I suggest ordering their potatoes and do ask for their freshly made salsa. We are looking forward to dining here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    260
    70
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cayucos, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch at Dorn's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was just there with my niece for a leisurely lunch. We both had the Cobb salad which was delicious, they serve it already cut up and tossed, so there's not work involved for the diner. I also had a cup of their clam chowder, just about the best you'll find on the coast. This restaurant is a family favorite and we eat on the deck whenever the weather permits. The wait staff is super friendly and they take good care of their patrons.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place is definitely added to our favorite list! We almost left due to the wait and the menu didn't LOOK exciting but, we sat at the bar and enjoyed the BEST bloody mary. I ordered the turkey, bacon, avocado sandwich substituting fries for fruit, my husband ordered the seafood combination (lunch menu). Let me tell you... our food was SO good, we didn't even speak! All you could hear from our table was moans of deliciousness! Portion size was generous/ service was excellent! Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliajulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for Every Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you want a reasonable place to eat in Morro Bay, try Dorn's Original Breaker's Cafe. Breakfasts are great. Lunch is the most enjoyable because the views are spectacular year round. Dinner is a little pricey but the best bargain in town. Try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This is the best place to eat in Morro Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Dorn's has it all! Excellently prepared food, fantastic ocean views, indoor and outdoor dining, warm and efficient staff, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner! The sea food is super fresh and local, and cooked to perfection! An amazing variety of dishes on the menu.The desserts are all handmade and exquisit. The decor is plush and charming. Even the restroom are lovely! We have eaten there several times, always satisfiyed and pleased. This month we have a small family gathering there for my Dad's 90 birthday, and Dorn's has made us feel really special. The owner Chris Dorn really knows his stuff, and will provide you with a wonderful dining expierence.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing