We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps not for everyone but one of our local favorites . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harada Japanese Restaurant

Harada Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perhaps not for everyone but one of our local favorites . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Imagine a very authentic Japanese owned Japanese restaurant where the chef, sushi expert and waiter are all Latinos . . . two are brothers and all three have worked there for 21 years or more.
We have found the food to be excellent and generous. There are several full dinners priced at $25 that include miso soup, an excellent cucumber salad, a sushi appetizer and a large entrée such as katsu pork cutlets, a pork stir fry or a combination teriyaki chicken and vegetable tempura presentation. There are also some specialty dinners that go up to $38. Service is attentive, at least at this slow time of year. The atmosphere is fairly typical of a comparable restaurant in Japan . . . two booths in the front of the restaurant have a pretty good view of the bay and a wonderful sunset experience when daylight savings time is in effect. For sushi lovers the sushi bar is very pleasant and atmospheric. Be sure to go to the back of the restaurant to see the uniform/armor of a samurai before you leave--and, oh yes, decide whether to say sayonara or adios to the great staff!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    9
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I really enjoyed Harada's. I love the decor and atmosphere.
I have never tried sushi before so this was a first for me.
Not only was the food delicious but I also enjoyed the experience.
You can sit at the Sushi Bar- which I highly recommend and watch your food be prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good sushi at good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We foud this place by chance, if was late and we just wanted some place open to have dinner.
It was a surprise to find this place, all the food is very fresh and it is not very expencive.
The ships (dishes to share) are the best deal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ABCMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still an above average restaurant in a tourist town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

A visit a few months ago (we stuck with the sushi) was completely enjoyable. Nothing really exotic, but all in all, very good quality and in a very quiet second floor location right in the middle of all the Morro Bay tourist traps. Do be aware that you can run up a scary bill if you go a la carte with the sushi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi after hours!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very friendly accommodating staff, offering excellent sushi when most places in Morro Bay are closed. Should of stopped here for our earlier dinner. Will not make that mistake again! Sushi the way it should be done at a fair price with a great ambiance. Period!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harada Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Harada Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing