We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You MUST Eat Here! Seriously.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Bonez - CLOSED

Fish Bonez
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You MUST Eat Here! Seriously.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Superb view, classy, interesting, and innovative menu. Large portions, reasonable price, excellent service with time to chat and visit with the patrons. The (I'm guessing) owner and the chef came out to see if everything was OK. We could not have been happier eating here. The waiter was knowledgeable about the menu - including the wines and beers. Everyone was welcoming, happy to see us and the whole place has a happy vibe. It's got a good feel. This is a great addition to Morro Bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Briley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

A young man on the street convinced us to walk up to this second floor new restaurant! Food was excellent and they were accommodating - when we asked about wine tours they had a knowledgeable person come over to advise us. Very pretty view of the bay, rock and sailboats.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“By far the best restaurant in Morro Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The food was excellent. The customer service was great and the ambiance was just perfect. THe owner was actually there helping the waiters with everything and made himself available for any help. If you want a great meal in a great location for a very reasonable price COME HERE.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeshorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views and huge portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in Morro Bay for my daughter's college graduation. That evening, we wandered along the Esplanade, checking out restaurant menus, until we found one which DIDN'T feature only fried seafood. We almost missed it, as it is upstairs from Rosie's. Once upstairs, we found a spacious room with a very nice ocean view. There is also an outside deck, but we opted for indoors, They have good local beers on draft (I had a Firestone DBA), and a good wine list. We had three strapping young men in our party, who were HUNGRY, so we ordered a dozen oysters on the half shell, a bowl of steamed clams, and some salads to get started. All were very good, especially the steamers, which had nice onion and garlic broth, served with crostini to mop it up. The guys ordered the combo seafood platters, and my wife and I had the surf & turf, she with lobster, and I with prawns. The combo platters were ENORMOUS: 4 Dungeness crab claws, a grilled lobster tail, prawns, cheesy potatoes, and steamed veggies. Our steaks were tender, perfectly cooked medium rare, with potatoes & excellent sauteed kale and bacon (I am gonna make that at home!). The guys couldn't finish their huge pile of food, so I got to box up 2 crab claws & half my steak to bring home. The sunset over the ocean was stunning, and we enjoyed every minute. Prices were very reasonable (about $300 for 7 of us, including drinks, tax & tip). Service was good. I would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfolks_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
1 review
“Innovative food and great wine at reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This restaurant is a step above the standard seafood tourism fare on the Morro Bay Embarcadero. It offers high quality seafood, great views and hefty portions - of both food and wine - at very good prices. Is a bit tucked away on the second floor above Rosie's. In fact I had heard it recommended as one of the best restaurants in the city from staff at their downstairs neighbor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Bonez also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing