We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bay view appetizer experience!”
Review of Off The Hook

Off The Hook
Ranked #42 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Escalon, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great bay view appetizer experience!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

While window shopping, stopped by to read the menu. Most interesting and decided to stop by for appetizers and drinks. Wonderfully friendly staff! Not huge sushi fans, but willing to expand our experiences. Sushi sampler plate was perfect and paired it with a suggested wine. Great view on the patio overlooking the bay. Morro Bay is really an awesome place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    52
    28
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baywood Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“perfect finish to Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Craving sushi, we read some mixed reviews on "Hook" but not crazy about other sushi option in town, so we took a chance. Very Happy we did - fresh, tasty sushi, with chef and crew that was eager to please. (Rather cranky manager, but not offensive, just "charactered").
Lucked out on a great sunset meal, on the deck (get there early). Only minor negatives - rolls a tad heavy on rice, they could use a better quality nigiri, but combinations are terrific! First of many visits to come!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Maybe should have had the sushi”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Off the Hook is located on the seafront, as are nearly all the restaurants in Morro Bay, and it specialises in seafood & sushi. As we're not great fans of sushi we ordered off the 'standard' menu & specials board.

The pacific code cooked in a tempura batter was very good. The grilled salmon at twice the price was disappointing. Virtually everyone else, who were mainly local, were eating sushi and that was the menu automatically given to us on arrival so maybe that should have given us a hint. The chef also looked Japanese - another hint !

Very busy and very busy on a Friday night so obviously a popular place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just ok...”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The sushi was good, but the fish is mostly fried and heavily battered. The shrimp bisque was better than the clam chowder. Next time we will make sure to get reservations at The Galley which was booked but highly recommended for great seafood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slarson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Off The Hook? Not really...”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The place has a great bay view and warm atmosphere- always has no matter who owned it or has been running whatever restaurant in the place. We ended up here this evening because it was fairly close to our hotel and the restaurant we normally frequent was totally booked. It is obvious they are trying really hard to make an American Seafood/ Japanese Fusion thing work. The attempt is noble, but misses something in translation. Service from beginning to end was sluggish and nice, but uninformed about the dishes. I ordered an Ono roll with a calamari appetizer and did not get it until the end of the meal. I ordered the salmon with buerre blanc special. The salmon was well cooked and the veggies well steamed, however, the buerre blanc was tasteless and odd served with sushi rice. We requested salt and pepper as nothing was seasoned. The tables behind and to the side of us also asked for salt. This place has a lot of potential if they figure out what their niche is and learn to season their food and create a more responsive wait- staff. Right now they are trying on too many personalities.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubberdux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off The Hook also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Off The Hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing