We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have never been disappointed”

Great American Fish Co
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great American Fish Company overlooks the Morro Bay Harbor serving Mesquite Broiled Fish and Steaks that we've been famous for since 1980.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We have never been disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I am very surprised by the number of negative reviews. We have been to the Great American Fish Co at least 10 times in the last 5 or 6 years and we have never been disappointed. Our most recent visit in Jan 2011 was no exception. We had a group of 9 people and no one had a single complaint about their food or service. There was a great variety of items ordered and everything was great. I do agree that the choices of sides (cabbage salad or sliced tomatoes) leaves a little to be desired but that is a minor complaint. We are headed back to Morro Bay for Valentines Day and there is no doubt that we will be eating at the Great American Fish Co.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    93
    37
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
1 review
“Can't believe it could get any better, Great with a capital "G"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

We have been to Morro Bay many times and we always make it a point to eat here. The new host they have is very polite, and always seem to have a smile on his face. The service was speedy but careful to take the time to inform us of the specials which I have to say were absolutely that. I had a miso glazed salmon that was fantastic, and my wife had they're halibut picatta. We split a chocolate mousse which they informed us was part of they're house made desserts menu which wasn't on a menu at all. I guess it is a secret menu so if you go there make sure to ask about the special desserts. all in all we had a fantastic dinner at an affordable price. We will definately be back there on our next vacation.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlansingIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your money and eat somewere else. My...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Save your money and eat somewere else. My husband and I just ate there. I was in the long line at giovannis and was so hungry decided to go eat at Great american fish company....worst choice I have ever made...chowder tastes like it cam from a can and fish and chips were gross and tough. Horribly rude blonde hostess, good thing I had a glass of wine. I definatly wouldn't eat there sober again! Or buzzed for that matter! Anywere in Morro bay would be better than this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bllackpurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
03245
1 review
“Only good thing is the view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I was shocked at the poor quality of the food. Fried scallops were raw, dripping with greese and tough. Could not eat the fish at all, tasted and smelled like it had gone bad days ago. Vegitables must have been left over from the day before. Service was good and the vew was great but not worth the price of a disgusting meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marjory03245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
“Excellent Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We had fresh sea bass, halibut, salmon and a combination Kebab and all the
dishes were great. Side dishes good and prices not bad. The wine was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Almedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great American Fish Co also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Great American Fish Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing