We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Cool, Look for the Peregrine Falcon's!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morro Rock

Morro Rock
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to flocks of Peregrine falcons, egrets and blue herons, the 50-acre Morro Rock is the last in a chain of extinct volcanoes.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool, Look for the Peregrine Falcon's!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent visit to to this unique landmark and especially appreciated the informative signs that explained how Morro Rock came to be. Bring your binoculars and take a good look up at the crags. You just might see some of the nesting Peregrine falcon's!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank parisienfoodisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    448
    127
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An Amazing Sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This huge rock formation appears out of nowhere. You can't miss it. There are seals and sea lions lying all over the rocks.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Serenitygardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Actually the Morro Rock is probably best seen from afar. You can drive to the side of it but I understand you cannot climb on the rock. It is impressive and an interesting sight in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really Cool Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just returned from Morro Bay and we fell in love with the Morro Rock! The beach was great for long walks and collecting Sand Dollars. The week we were there was a good one for pretty big waves and there were lots of surfers. We walked the beach EVERY day!! Love it!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hiker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great way to spend 3 hours wandering with a camera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We spent a few hours strolling around Morro Rock and the beach to the north, cloudy day but lots of visitors and surfers enjoying the spectacular scenery and beautiful beach

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morro Rock also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Morro Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing