We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Make sure you don't pay much...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morro Crest Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morro Crest Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Morro Bay B&B and Inns
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Make sure you don't pay much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Older with a try of a hip renovation. No cigar but good effort. Old furniture, thin walls, take the comforter off first thing type of hotel. Very typical semi clean carpet and curry overtones. I had people above who were up late and apparently pacing. Sounded like a basketball tournament.

Room Tip: There are lots of choices and you can save a bunch going midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    28
    18
    6
    11
See reviews for
21
35
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here as a last resort on a Sat nite after all the nearby Days Inns, Ramada Inns, hotels/motels were sold out. They gave us the last room. Luckily we only stayed for one nite b/c if I had to stay a second nite, I woulda bailed. Blankets, pillows, bedsheets were clean after a close inspection. No insect sightings, but the sound insulation was horrible!!! We could hear the folks upstairs walking, talking, laughing, etc. Needless to say I only got about 3 to 4 hours sleep at most. They have a coffee maker in the room, but don't expect anything else.

Oh, did I say, the hijacked room rate was a whopping $200 per night. After the hidden room tax rate, the final bill came to $225. But of course!!! What else to expect when all the neighboring places have sold out. BTW-- nothing much to see in Morro Bay. Your typical California seaside town. The only saving grace was one of the most glorious sunsets I'd seen in a long, long time on their beach, which was pretty deserted. The flying seagulls, pure sea breeze and that glorious Morro Bay sunset was worth it after all. There are some reasonably priced seafood places along the main strip in town. A nice getaway from civilization for a weekend, but definitely stay away from anything other than a well known chain hotel/motel. This place is a Rip Off!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you have no other choice or the nearby motels are sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had no reservation but we were given choice of room either upstairs or downstairs. Parking was available right outside the door to our room and windows facing the parking lot offered full view of our parked pickup truck full of camping stuff that was not disturbed during the nite. We got a disct. for paying in cash vs. credit card so it helped to ask. Free coffee, orange juice & muffins in the am. The room had a micro, a coffee pot and a mini refrig as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor equal easy access to your vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fisherman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed about one week ago. We did not have reservations and were driving through the area and decided to stay the night. Several of the chain hotels we checked were booked and when I saw a triple a approved sign at this hotel I felt comfortable checking out a room and price. We looked at two rooms with nice views of the rock from the hill we were on two blocks up from the bay. Both were very clean with nice clean tile bathrooms. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a one or two night stat. It is also very walkable to restaurants and bay. Only one thing to mention that I did not like. The second story landing has a little stone covered ramp that is hard to see when climbing up and down and I almost tripped a couple of times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great little place to stay while visiting Morro Bay. Convenient location. Friendly & helpful front desk. Clean, updated room, comfy bed, comfy pillows. We got a wonderful nites rest..peaceful, quiet & cool temp. I was worried about the no air conditioning but you don't need ac here! We appreciated the free small muffins, orange juice & coffee in the morning. Will definitely come back & stay at the same place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 42PinkGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom had been updated. The outside could stand some cleaning. Free coffee was offered in the office which was a nice touch. Being "walk-ins" without a reservation on a Saturday night we paid a little more than we should but were afraid not to take this room as it was getting dark. There is no air conditioning but you don't need it as this part of California stays cool.

Room Tip: All rooms faced or had windows facing roadways. Traffic noise dies down after 9:00pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelandJuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Morro Bay Inn for two days. You cannot complain about the price being that close to Morro Bay and the overall stay wasn't that bad. If i come back and need to stay again for a day or two , I would stay there again . Now if you planning on staying like a week or more they Realy not set up for that but this is my thought so you will have to judge it for yourself

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morro Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morro Crest Inn

Property: Morro Crest Inn
Address: 670 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2222
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morro Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, we are a small 17 unit motel located in the heart of Morro Bay, we are 3 blocks up from the beautiful Embarcadero, our rates are unbeatable, our motto is "we welcome may all who enter as guests, leave as friends" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Morro Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing