We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five miles of beach with tidepools here and there”

Morro Strand State Beach
Ranked #5 of 37 things to do in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Five miles of beach with tidepools here and there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

The Strand is perfect for a long leisurely walk on the beach from Morro Bay to Cayucos, a great place to explore a tidepool, take picturea of the sunset or reflections on the sand at low tide. It's my daughter's favorite place to fly a kite.

Helpful?
Thank Beach-Nana93402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    78
    14
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Huge long beach, very easy to get to. Great for walks or watching surfers,kite surfers and boogie boarders!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice for a long beach walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Whenever we visit Morro Bay we like to start at the Rock and walk out along the beach. You can take a nice long walk on this beach. Often there are very big waves, and surfers. Sometimes we sit down in the dunes for a rest. Nice spot. But be prepared for wind and cold, just in case - this beach is often windy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
545 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Awesome rock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Not much to say about the beach - it's a beach. But the rock is awesome!! Certainly worth a short stop and take a couple of photos. It was ridiculously windy the day we were there so it was an extremely short visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kencatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pristine California beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We live only a block from this beach and have used it for many years. It is a wide beach with sand dunes and runs from Morro Bay to Cayucos, a wonderful long walk of over four miles. Mostly locals use it during the week when it is sparsely occupied. You can fish from the shore and actually catch something!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank solara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morro Strand State Beach also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Morro Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing