We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I came to Morro Bay to say goodbye to my grandmother and will be returning next weekend for her funeral. I have stayed at this hotel before and was pleased with its accomodations and location in Morro Bay. I will be staying at the same hotel next week. What compelled me to write this review was the wonderful customer service that I received from the front desk person Julie. She was very professional but also kind and compassionate at a very difficult time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Teri P,

We are sorry for your loss and want to send our deepest condolences to you and your family. I'm happy to know that during your difficult time Julie made every effort to ensure that your stay was comfortable. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Morro Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 696 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Was there with my family and simply loved the hotel. Room was very big and comfortable, staff was extremely nice and all was new. The a/c was one of those old wall noisy machines, however worked well. Great water pressure in the shower and complimentary internet. Located close to the main restaurant street, the surroundings are not noisy and one is able to leave the car in the hotels garage and know Morro Bay by walking around. Breakfast was also great. Can recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank PedroM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear PedroM0,

Thank you for your feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you and your family loved your stay with us and enjoyed our spacious accommodations and downtown location. We look forward to seeing you again. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We took a trip down the PCH from San Francisco to LA and this was our place to stop after doing the beautiful drive through Big Sur. As a pure one-night stopping point we only needed a bed but were pleasantly surprised when this hotel turned out to be one of the highlights of the trip - not for being especially luxurious but it can't be beaten for service and value.

We'd originally planned to stop in Cambria but were shocked at how expensive a reasonable hotel cost there - we then looked at Morro Bay and were amazed at how much more affordable everything was - and in a lovely little seaside town. We picked the Comfort Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed.

The hotel itself is certainly above the normal Comfort Inn standard, although the basics of the chain hotel were present, it felt a lot more cared for and individual. The amenities included free covered parking and wi-fi (both critical in my book!) and a free breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was very good and filling - all self-serve but included a waffle machine, oatmeal sachets, toast, cereals, pastries etc. Definitely a good start to the day, just don't lie-in and only give yourself 10 minutes for breakfast like we did (although they didn't hurry us out at all)!

The room was a good size and very comfortable - not much to say other than it was a comfortable bed, all spotlessly clean, all the bits and bobs you'd expect - a good place to spend the night. We opted for the sea-view side and even got a nice little balcony looking out over the rock in the bay, it was just a pity we only had one night so couldn't properly enjoy it.

The location was good - Morro Bay isn't large but this hotel was just a block away from the lovely Embarcadero and sea-front walk. There you've got everything you'd expect - restaurants, bars, shops etc. Morro Bay is quite a sleepy little town though: perfect for us but not necessarily the best idea if you want a big night life.

Finally though, as mentioned, the service was great - especially (as mentioned elsewhere here) Julie who welcomed us on arrival. She was friendly, helpful and efficient and made our stay all the more pleasant. We were also offered a coupon for dinner at one of the restaurants (Windows On the Water) on the bay. I'm always a bit wary of restaurants that you get a coupon for but we went for it and it was a really nice dinner in a good location, made even better by having a coupon. I think the coupon was for free dessert and they said you can even go in and get your dessert without buying anything else.

So...a great place to stay at the right price (we paid around 100 USD) - definitely worth it if you're driving the PCH.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear ECTom,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It's always wonderful to hear that we exceeded our guest expectations in providing excellent service, accommodations and value. We look forward to seeing you again. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Staff very helpful, we followed their guidance to a restaurant and had a very nice meal. The room was perfect, very clean and nice colours. It was our first time in a comfort inn and we felt so relaxed that we booked the following nights in various comfort inns, but did never reached the same level again, morro's was the best!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia17130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Claudia17130,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff was helpful and friendly. Enjoy the rest of your time in the states and we hope to see you again. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Safe Travels,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay at this property. Beautiful view of Morro bay from third floor balcony. Room was excellent. Quiet, 42in tv, btl. Napa cab. marble counters etc. Staff very helpful with coupons for local food. Breakfast area great, yes: Fox news was on!

Room Tip: pay attention if your parking late night in garage or use front entrance. Wear a sweater in breakfas...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear donald b,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of our in room amenities including our 42" flat screen tv. We look forward to seeing you again. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is one of the best properties we stayed in while visiting USA on a five week holiday. The lady on the front desk when we arrived (Julie) was so friendly and helpful… a great start. The room was delightful and extremely clean with all the amenities you'd expect. We had a 3rd floor room overlooking the Bay and the view certainly didn't disappoint. The King Bed was super comfy and hubby and I slept incredibly well as a consequence. The free breakfast was more than ample with eggs (scrambled and boiled) and sausages on offer as well as fresh waffles, cereals, toast and pastries/muffins… there were even some fruits available. Our only regret was that we could only manage one night. We will definitely be back to this beautiful area and will most certainly stay at the Comfort Inn again!

Room Tip: I'd recommend paying the few extra dollars for an ocean view room… it really was beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wils0ncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear wilsoncm65,

Thank you for your feedback. It's heartwarming to hear that you felt this was one of the best properties you have stayed at during your holidays. We do our best to provide clean and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests and pride in our customer service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip out to the states. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Safe Travels,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Back in Oct 2013 we were traveling up the coast, camping mostly and stayed here for a few days as a break from campgrounds. We were photographing wildlife along the coast including the Sea Otters in Morro Bay and the Elephant Seals at Piedras Blancas. We decided to come back and spent a week here in January, once again photographing wildlife in the area. Very clean and comfortable place to stay. Just a block from the Embarcadero...the main street along the waterfront with shops and lots of great restaurants...ends at Morro Rock. The staff is friendly and very helpful, always enjoy talking to Julie at the front desk. Great full breakfast. Didn't stay for the view...its outside.

Room Tip: As always, try to stay on the top floor, in this case the 3rd. Quieter, but the 2nd isn't overly...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phototraveler81223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear phototraveler81223,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your continued business. We're happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again when that next wildlife photo opportunity brings you back to Morro Bay. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Address: 590 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2247 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $119 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block up from the waterfront and within walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. We offer rooms King Beds and Two Queen Beds many of which have ocean views over looking Morro Rock. All rooms are newly renovated and have 40" TVs, microwaves, coffee makers, A/Cs, iron/ironing boards, free HOT breakfast which consists of freshly made waffles, scrambled eggs and meats, onsite fitness facility, and free WIFI. Most rooms have balconies. We are a 100% Smoke & Pet free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Dolphin Hotel Morro Bay
Twin Dolphin Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing