We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened???” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Bounty

Thai Bounty
Ranked #26 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fresno
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What Happened???”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I read great reviews...heard great things from friends and then wow, what a disappointment. I don't know if they lost all their serving staff...had a massive sick out or what. But the very nice girl who brought our appetizer and Thai Tea (both very tasty) told us she wasn't allowed to take our order...that only George could. After 45 minutes we begged her could you please take our order??? She said she was sorry and understood if we wanted to leave but only George could take our order and George was busy stumbling around the restaurant like he was in charge of everything but not capable. We begged again after another 10 minutes and somehow a different girl was able to take our order. The food took another 30 minutes. The sad thing about this place was the food was very good..the staff we met were very polite. The problem seemed to be George and whatever power he had over this place. Despite the great food...I doubt I will return.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank erie.mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    52
    22
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We're from the UK and arrived in Morro Bay after the big sur drive. We weren't massively hungry having had a typically large American lunch but we needed to stretch our car legs and have a bite before bed. Thai Bounty was perfect! The food was fresh and as good as any Thai we've had in London. As the portions were large we shared, which was plenty, and the chef made two distinct small portions for us. If you want great food without the hassle of 'fine dining' after a long drive this place is brilliant!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nixcynix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well prepared Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We get ocean deprived and get to Cayucos (Morro Bay) every year or two. This year we checked out tripadvisor and decided that Thai Bounty would be a good choice for a restaurant. It was a good decision. We went there for lunch and had good food. It was well prepared by Dori and George made some excellent recommendations which we followed and were not disappointed. The initial problem was finding the place. Tripadvisor had the old address listed not the new one. The new address is 560 Embarcadero. If you like well prepared Thai food you'll like Thai Bounty.
.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keloma31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“THE place for Thai in Morro Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We are so pleased to finally have a great Thai restaurant in Morro Bay. I cannot get enough of the calamari. It is usually served with a very hot chili dipping oil but there are other choices if it is too spicy...try both! The Pad Thai is excellent. I also enjoy the Spring Rolls. This is a popular place so go early or expect to wait, especially on weekends...or skip the crowd and go for lunch. The staff is wonderful and the chef is a delight. This is definitely the place foe Thai in Morro Bay!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous, authentic Thai food prepared fresh to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I can't say enough about the great food at the Thai Bounty. The owners Doi and George knock themselves out to provide some of the very best Thai food on the Central Coast. George is a commercial fisherman and brings fresh fish to the menu or contracts with other local fishermen; the couple raises vegetables and Thai herbs on their 5 acres in the Los Osos Valley. Their basil is fresh and flavorful. Their market garden is organic and the fresh ingredients make a big difference in their salads, soups, curry dishes, noodles, and stir-fry. They work with local ranchers to bring the highest quality beef, poultry and pork to their restaurant. Doi is from Thailand, George is Cuban, and sometimes they do a fusion food event, and George even brings his band to perform. A wonderful spot. The new location provides lots of outdoor seating and a wonderful interior environment. Why a 4 rating? Sometimes their staff seems ambivalent and uncaring. I know Doi and George are working to change the staff's attitude. The food is SO good, I can easily ignore what I think the service should be, and just enjoy the food. We eat at the Thai Bounty at least twice a month, usually for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Califia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Bounty also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Thai Bounty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing