We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seal Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect little motel!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at the Beach Bungalow Motel in Morro Bay, CA, for two nights, and absolutely loved it. The customer service was wonderful, and the free breakfast or lunch option at nearby restaurants was great. Would definitely recommend it! Our room faced The Rock and the view was special. We could walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank peghello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the fantastic review on our Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, we hope you return soon! We appreciate your business.

Have a great Thanksgiving Day!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    142
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
147
337
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked ahead, based on the great Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Spacious, well appointed and comfortable bungalow room with many lovely 'extras', especially the glowing gas fire. We hardly needed it for heat, in September, but it gave a really welcoming effect in the evening when we arrived. Appreciated the 'quality' coffee / machine; and really comfortable beds. A memory is of the huge ceiling fan!!

A rare 'perk' was the fire pit and seating, set in the middle of the bungalows and parking area, where you can relax over a drink in warmth in later evening.

Wonderful offer of free / inclusive breakfast at choice of local restaurants; we opted for Frankie and Lola's on the seafront and were impressed with the choice offered and the meals we chose.

Only sorry we could only spend one night, on our travels from LA to San Francisco. I could have stayed and enjoyed a much longer stay! Hope to do so some other time. ;-)

Room Tip: All rooms seem good; resort is set on a quiet street in Morro Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oban27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Oban

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our Inn and beautiful Morro Bay. We hope to see you again in the future and we appreciate your business.

Take care and enjoy your travels....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just brilliant. The host could not be more welcoming. We were very tired after a long drive and he quickly got us all set in our room, booked us for dinner at a great restaurant, The Galley, and showed us to our gorgeous room with fire roaring.Fantastic rooms, great host and well located for the seafront and resturants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Rebecca

Thank you for staying with us and I'm so glad you loved our little home away from home. It was pleasure serving you while visiting Morro Bay.

Safe travels home!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were looking for a good place for an overnight stop between Monterey and Santa Barbara and found the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites through Trip Advisor. It lived up to the ratings. We didn't know Morro Bay but it was a nice contrast to Monterey and Carmel-as a commercial fishing port as well as catering for boating and other water sports, it's a bit more down-to-earth. The wildlife is an attraction: you can get very close to the sea lions and can hardly avoid hearing them. The Rock looks spectacular as the sun sets behind it.

We had Blue Butterfly, which is a two bedroom suite. All very tastefully decorated in a modern style rather than the fake olde-worlde look that a lot of hotels favour, with a mix of dark wood, rich colours and lots of white paint. The bathroom was well equipped and spacious, although it had a shower only. There was plenty of storage space, although no safe. Everything was very clean.

Heating and cooling was taken care of by a gas fire (in a traditional fireplace) and ceiling fan - we needed both at different times of the day. It was very nice and romantic to be able to sit in the very comfortable bed in the morning with the fire going, drinking real coffee from the machine provided in the room.

Outside, there is a well maintained garden with a fire pit, which would be quite an attraction on chilly evenings. You park outside your room or very nearby.

We opted for the breakfast vouchers included in the price of the room. Frankie and Lola's is a few minutes' walk away down by the shore-you get a huge American breakfast and generous amounts of coffee.

The staff and proprietors are friendly, chatty and will give you lots of advice on things to do and see in the area.

We would recommend this place to anyone. We don't know how they do it for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Alan

Thank you for your terrific feedback and we are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed beautiful Morro Bay. We hope to see you again in the future and thanks for your business.

Cheers!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Butterfly room, which has 2 adjoining rooms and 1 bathroom. Owners were pleasant and helpful. Extremely peaceful and quiet location. We could hear the seals barking at night, but no loud neighbors or vehicles. Rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated. The beds, however, are almost unbearable! They truly feel like plywood covered in a sheet, at least the beds in our room did. Made for unpleasant evenings. The bathroom was spacious and all features in our room worked well. A quick jaunt to the Embarcadero from our room, and also the grocery store and other local haunts, made this location extremely convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good Day!

Thanks for taking the time to tell us how your visit was during your trip to Morro Bay this past July. I'm very sorry the beds were not comfortable in your room and I will check them out immediately. We usually get great comments about our beds so maybe something disassembled during our daily servicing of your room. I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and will reach out to you in the next day to speak to you directly. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel based on reviews and absolutely loved it! Retro looking motel style hotel, with absolutely beautiful modern and airy rooms. Easy walk to Morro Beach's main drag, and TERRIFIC complimentary breakfast at Frank & Lola's. Stayed in the Estuary Room with views on the Rock...rooms were clean, very spacious, and equipped with all the modern amenities. Plus they are pet friendly! Fabulous visit - would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so glad you enjoyed the yummy breakfast too!
We hope to see you during your travels again.

Safe travels home!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights towards the end of a driving tour. Unfortunately we arrived a bit late, but the owner had left our room keys out for us so we didn’t have any problems.

Driving down towards Morro Bay the cloud was extremely low and by the time we got in to town with the cloud and mist it felt like it was about 10pm, it was extremely strange. However, when we opened the door to our room we were greeted with a gorgeous gas fire which made the nicely decorated room feel really cosy. It was so nice that on the first evening, rather than go out to dinner we went to the local store and bought some cheese, bread and wine and ate in our room.

The room had a good sized bed, large wall mounted TV, ceiling fan and an unusual clock radio which had a seaside sound effect. Never used one of these before, but it was a very soothing sound. The bathroom didn’t have a bathtub, but had a large walk in shower which was nice. Given the large size of the bathroom I think fitting a bath tub would be a good idea as there was plenty of room.

I checked in the following morning and was given vouchers which could be used at a number of local restaurants for Breakfast, lunch or dinner. We used ours for breakfast both days at Frankie & Lola’s which I can recommend and is only a five minute walk away.

Morro is a nice little town with shops and restaurants along the sea front. We had a great meal in a restaurant called The Galley, we got lucky with a table for two, but I would recommend booking ahead as it seemed very popular.

There are lots of seals sleeping on the rocks and docks which are nice to see.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, the people are friendly and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Paul

Thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Beach Bungalow Inn and your trip to Morro Bay. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you return again. We appreciate you business, safe travels home.....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing