We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Quiet Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, Quiet Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in the Blue Butterfly room, which has 2 adjoining rooms and 1 bathroom. Owners were pleasant and helpful. Extremely peaceful and quiet location. We could hear the seals barking at night, but no loud neighbors or vehicles. Rooms are immaculate and tastefully decorated. The beds, however, are almost unbearable! They truly feel like plywood covered in a sheet, at least the beds in our room did. Made for unpleasant evenings. The bathroom was spacious and all features in our room worked well. A quick jaunt to the Embarcadero from our room, and also the grocery store and other local haunts, made this location extremely convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good Day!

Thanks for taking the time to tell us how your visit was during your trip to Morro Bay this past July. I'm very sorry the beds were not comfortable in your room and I will check them out immediately. We usually get great comments about our beds so maybe something disassembled during our daily servicing of your room. I apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and will reach out to you in the next day to speak to you directly. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    136
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
139
315
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel based on reviews and absolutely loved it! Retro looking motel style hotel, with absolutely beautiful modern and airy rooms. Easy walk to Morro Beach's main drag, and TERRIFIC complimentary breakfast at Frank & Lola's. Stayed in the Estuary Room with views on the Rock...rooms were clean, very spacious, and equipped with all the modern amenities. Plus they are pet friendly! Fabulous visit - would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so glad you enjoyed the yummy breakfast too!
We hope to see you during your travels again.

Safe travels home!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights towards the end of a driving tour. Unfortunately we arrived a bit late, but the owner had left our room keys out for us so we didn’t have any problems.

Driving down towards Morro Bay the cloud was extremely low and by the time we got in to town with the cloud and mist it felt like it was about 10pm, it was extremely strange. However, when we opened the door to our room we were greeted with a gorgeous gas fire which made the nicely decorated room feel really cosy. It was so nice that on the first evening, rather than go out to dinner we went to the local store and bought some cheese, bread and wine and ate in our room.

The room had a good sized bed, large wall mounted TV, ceiling fan and an unusual clock radio which had a seaside sound effect. Never used one of these before, but it was a very soothing sound. The bathroom didn’t have a bathtub, but had a large walk in shower which was nice. Given the large size of the bathroom I think fitting a bath tub would be a good idea as there was plenty of room.

I checked in the following morning and was given vouchers which could be used at a number of local restaurants for Breakfast, lunch or dinner. We used ours for breakfast both days at Frankie & Lola’s which I can recommend and is only a five minute walk away.

Morro is a nice little town with shops and restaurants along the sea front. We had a great meal in a restaurant called The Galley, we got lucky with a table for two, but I would recommend booking ahead as it seemed very popular.

There are lots of seals sleeping on the rocks and docks which are nice to see.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, the people are friendly and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Paul

Thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Beach Bungalow Inn and your trip to Morro Bay. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope you return again. We appreciate you business, safe travels home.....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Unlike many of the overly cutesy and touristy towns between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Morro Bay is a working fishing town with a charming and real waterfront and some terrific, casual restaurants with very fresh seafood. My husband and I choose Morro Bay as a place to spend the night after our day at Hearst Castle, and we're glad we did. And we were thrilled with Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, which is charming, super clean and delightfully retro without being a cliche. The room we had was huge, far bigger than anything we've had in years, and it was a room with only one king bed, so I assume other rooms are bigger. From this motel you can walk the few very short blocks to the wharf and any number of little restaurants. Oh, and the motel gives you breakfast coupons at your choice of three local breakfast spots. We choose Frank and Lulu's, and had a terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viator54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your super comments about our Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites and we are very glad you enjoyed your guest room and our cozy little fishing town of Morro Bay. Your right, its a special place and so peaceful, we hope you return again.

Warm regards,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in the middle a road trip and had just come accomodation ranging from 5 star hotel in LA and one of the worst dodgey Motels in Santa Barbara. We came across this without making a booking and were delightfully surprised. Well appointed rooms that were quiet and of a comfortable size. Large bathroom and the reception was efficient and polite. Free breakfast vouchers was an unexpected bonus and the diner we chose was great! Location was just a few minutes from the harbour area. Lovely stay and good value.

Room Tip: None in particular as the whole area seemed quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmental practices seem to be well thought out.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneralFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
General FM

Thanks for your feedback and positive comments regarding your stay to our little Inn. We truly appreciate your honest opinion and taking the time to pass them onto us.

We hope to see you again, safe travels!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had the Sandspit room and it was lovely. Owners had remodeled and updated inn when they bought it. Decor was very pretty and I loved the bed. There was a small sitting area and the room had hardwood floors. The only downside was the small bathroom, but we managed okay. Morro Bay is a lovely little town. We really enjoyed our stay as we made our way up Highway 1.

Room Tip: Check pictures of the rooms online before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oklahoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Beach Bungalow Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to our little town.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We wanted an economical place to stay, with a view of the Rock. We stayed in the Peregrine room, and it was superb - a spotlessly clean, cheerful room, with a nice little porch.

When we checked in, Morro Bay was socked in with fog and there was no rock in sight. They told us, "Trust us, you'll see it." We woke up the next morning to brilliant sunshine and the Rock looking like it was almost in the front yard.

What a sweet place to stay! Friendly people, great view, perfect setting. If you're hungry, you can walk just a block and eat at the Hungry Fisherman - yum!! I would love to go back and stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really happy the weather was perfect for you for your visit and you experienced the ROCK of Morro Bay. We appreciate your business!

We hope we see you again in the future.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing