We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Morro Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Morro Bay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

These cottages are amazing. We rented two and they are spotless and full of amenities. Wood floors, fireplace make it very cozy. The beds are top quality and everything is very clean. This place is super relaxing. It's very close to the water so you get the breezeand and you can hear the sounds of the sea lions at night. The owners are very polite and on top of it instead of buffet breakfast you get a voucher per person to use at the best local spots for breakfast or lunch. Best value for the price. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalia575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Natalia

Thank you for your great comments about your visit to the Beach Bungalow. Enjoy your rest of your summer!

We hope see you again soon.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    142
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
146
336
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an incredible stay. The Beach Bungalow was perfectly situated between the Embarcadero and Downtown, with both in easy walking distance. The room was clean and very comfortable. We loved the fact our girls could go into their room and close the door so we could have some privacy. The firepit was a great place to watch the sunset over the Morro Rock. Breakfast options were fantastic, and within easy walking distance. Our girls are already asking when we can go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Owner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
M/M N S

Thanks for your great comments about our Inn and thanks for the card you sent to us too. Tell the lovely girls hi and I hope they enjoyed the July 4th event....

See you again soon!

J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent three nights in Morro Bay at the Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites.....it was great! The room was extremely clean with fresh modern decor. The in-room gas fireplace was a great way to take the chill out of the evening air. The owner was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and activities in and around Morro Bay. We were within walking distance of the main strip of shops, restaurants and Morro Rock. It was great for my preteen/teenage children to be able to walk on their own to the waterfront. The town is an eclectic mix of locals and tourists. The bay and the beach areas are beautiful with seals and otters swimming within the bay. Our favorite activities were kayaking in the bay and going sport fishing with Virg's Fishing charters

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yos134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hello YOS 134

Thanks for your kind comments and we are glad the family really enjoyed Morro Bay and the Beach Bungalow Inn.

Come back again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
365 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We a family of Six stayed for Three Nights in the Motel ( Beach Bungalow is a misnomer). We reached around 8 PM and check in was hassle free.However the proprty is neat and staff courteous.There are not many vegetarian options around.However I was informed by Other inmates that fabulous Sea Food is availble in the town.We visited the Morro rock and the Natural History Museum a veritable sight for bird watchers.
I would recommend if you are interested in a quiet stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRAMA200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks so much for passing on your comments, we really do appreciate you taking the time.

Come back and see us again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great experience at this property. The staff goes the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The rooms are very clean, cozy, and nicely decorated. Definitely a hidden gem along the coast...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
THANK YOU for the GREAT comments about our staff and your visit to the BBIS. We hope your return soon!

Take care and thanks for your business!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a fine hotel nestled in the cozy town of Morro Bay. Rooms were very clean, staff was curteous and polite, the place was quiet. Overall my wife and I spent a fantastic 2 night stay here. Will come back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reza b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I'm so glad you and your wife enjoyed your visit to Morro Bay and the Beach Bungalow.

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit and look forward to taking care of you in the future,

See you again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I should have checked this out more thoroughly when we made the booking... this is just a motel located a few blocks from the harbor, like the Days inn or the EconoLodge nearby. It should not have been called "Beach Bungalow Suites" It's not on the beach, its a 1950s motel, not a set of bungalows, and the suites are not really suites. Yes the owners have done a great job remodeling the rooms and they are extremely clean. But.. we had one of the "suites" ("Blue Butterfly"). There was no desk/table to write, no coffee table, no sitting area, just two rooms with a bed and one armchair in each and a little fridge that was noisy all night. Yes there was a nice gas fireplace. But the location is bland at best, nothing romantic, just a little motel like so many. Wifi worked well and the voucher for breakfast in a third party restaurant was fine. Owners are very nice, but we will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Managing Partner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank You for your recent review.

The Beach Bungalow Inn & Suites is a true California Motor Court Motel located 2 blocks from the Bay. It was built in the 1930's and has the charm of the era with all of the modern comforts of the recent remodel that you noted.

As a small family owned Inn that values our reputation with our guests and prides itself on meeting our guests needs we know that your experience did not meet your expectations.

The Blue Butterfly is a two bedroom, King/Queen non parlor family room. The description on our web site reads: The Blue Butterfly will fulfill your needs including separate bedrooms, fireplaces, flat screen TV’s, local artwork, luxury pillows, pillow top beds, hardwood floors, chenille robes and additional comforting amenities. Your King/Queen accommodation will surely present up to four (4) guests with a relaxing, pleasing visit.

We always value each guests experience at the Inn. Upon reading your review we were alerted to the unfortunate noise that the refrigerator was making and we replaced the unit. We would have gladly done so during the visit had we been notified of the inconvenience.

We are sorry that we were unable to meet your needs during your visit to Morro Bay. We would be pleased to have you back and invite you to notify us directly at the Inn prior to your next visit to Morro Bay.

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing