We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morro's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stay here. Nowhere else in Morro Bay. We were here 3/29-31/2013 with two rooms - a suite and a regular room.
1) THE definition of an iconic Central California motel experience... The look of an old by-the-coast motel property but with all the modern day amenities of a 5 story hotel. Only in CA can this be pulled off right, as it is here.

2) Two blocks from the beach. Because in Morro, closer is not better.

3) Really comfortable hotel beds. And nice, new, clean linens.

4) Free breakfast vouchers.... At the best breakfast places.

5) Friendly, knowledgeable staff. They called once to confirm and once to say my upgrade was possible (we had "won" the room from our friend William Shatner and his negotiator, but wished to upgrade to a suite. They charged us a fair upgrade price, even though they didn't have to. ) They also called in advance to advise that no pets allowed in the Suite (regular room ok).

6) Owned by a small group of people, not a large impersonal corporation.

7) Because the "Inn at Morro Bay" sold out in 2009 and used to be the premier location in town, but is now owned by a large impersonal corporation. (See #6).

8) Even the fake fireplace in the room was cozy.

9) Kitchen in suite had all size utensils, fine for mommy & daddy; good for baby.

10) Cute doghouse on corner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 621 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here one night while driving down the coast. I've never been here before and just took advice of tripadvisor reviews. The one thing that was negative was these humongous factory smoke stacks right on the shoreline of central Morro Bay, and while they may be a part of living, it's not what you want to see while on vacation. Still, this motel in Morro Bay was cute and clean and a good value. Very comfortable beds. The management left an envelope with info and room keys for us taped to the reception window since we arrived later than they stayed--alittle unnerving and smacks of small town culture. This is how Morro Bay rolls. And I would stay here again and recommend it to you. Our room was nice and big and had car ports on both sides so we had no problems with neighbor noise. But our little fridge in the room was quite noisy. Just an fyi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved our room/appt. it was massive. Brilliant shower, massive bed and a breakfast voucher which was valid in at least four places. It was great. Couldn't ask for more. Makesure you read the guest book for tips

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lxyflippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Purchased tickets for Hearst Castle on 1/19/2013. Although Cambria is much closer to San Simeon, we chose to return to the Beach Bungalow based on a high level of satisfaction from our four earlier stays. We were assigned to the Morro Room, which seemed to be even larger than
the spacious rooms we enjoyed previously. The decor, furnishings and amenities are comparable to urban, upscale hotels. The beds are very comfortable and the linens are plush. Parking could not be more convenient. Unlike many of the chain hotels, Internet access is included in the room rate. The Morro Room has two bathrooms, a full kitchen and a fireplace. Lucia was thrilled with the dressing table and make up mirror in the second bathroom. Cleanliness is of paramount importance to us and we have been impressed with each accommodation. The Beach Bungalow is conveniently located to the Embarcadero. We returned to the Galley Restaurant and enjoyed good food and wine. The Tablas Creek Patelin Rhone Blend from nearby Paso Robles was excellent. It's a great feeling when you enjoy an extra glass of wine and understand that you can walk rather than drive back to your hotel. Despite proximity to the Embarcadero (five to eight minute walk), we have found this hotel to be quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: I believe this was our sixth visit to the Beach Bungalow. I think we have stayed in a different suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I came to Morro Bay to celebrate our 29th Wedding Anniversary. We had never been there before so we researched places to stay on TripAdvisor.com. In addition I emailed the proprietors of three different lodgings. Jim Bray at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites was so prompt and helpful in his responses to several emails. We also felt their website had a wealth of information helpful to our trip planning. So we made our reservation with them and had a splendid four days and four nights there. The rooms are really lovely and comfortable. Our king sized bed was heavenly and the gas fireplace really added to our romantic getaway. When we arrived we were greeted by Georgie at the front desk and she answered our questions and showed us around the property and took us to our room. We found a bottle of champagne and Anniversary greetings, complements of the Inn! There is a gas firepit in the central courtyard along with a lovely fountain and Beach Cruiser Bicycles to loan. An especial wonderful added touch was the free breakfast each day at one of several fine restaurants. We visited them all and weren't disappointed at a single one. The food was delicious! We spent one day of our four driving PCH with stops to view the Elephant Seals just north of Hearst's Castle, a stop at Pfeifer Big Sur Redwood Grove and a visit to the John Denver memorial in Pacific Grove. We had dinner in Monterrey and headed back to Morrow Bay on the 101. It was a leisurely trip that really was delightful! The Morro Bay State Park Natural history museum is another pleasant diversion with spectacular views and informative exhibits. We found so much to do and see in the area and enjoyed oursel es immensely. We will be back to stay at the Beach Bungalow Inn and highly recommend it to you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We got a GREAT nights sleep in this adorable inn. It was sooooo cute. We stayed in the Monarch room which comes with a cute little fireplace. The room was cozy and warm. The bathroom was very spacious. The bed and bedding was VERY comfortable. The only downside was that when the cleaning crew started in the rooms adjacent around 9:30 am, it was a bit too loud and woke us up. But in the end, we needed to wake up around 15 minutes later anyway.

The coolest thing on top of the cute inn was the meal voucher thing for breakfast or lunch. I can't believe more hotels don't do this! We loved the idea. We picked the Hungry Fisherman since it was just down the street and we had a yummy breakfast. Way better than some stale muffins and OJ!

If we are in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again... a great value.

Room Tip: The Monarch Room was very nice - it's on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avideno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband always tells me to be nice...So, in my nicest voice let me say...There were obviously many improvements made to this facility. We had reservations for a room with one queen bed and by phone, were "upgraded" to a larger room with two queen beds. Since we never saw the room with the one bed we have nothing to compare it to. The room was a nice size and the bathroom average. Amenities included in the room were: iron & ironing board, refrig, coffee maker (worst coffee & tea EVER), hair dryer, extra blankets and pillows, robes and slippers, WiFi and the usual toiletries. Bicycles were available, too. I think the best part was the breakfast voucher! We had a complimentary breakfast each morning at a local restaurant (our choice of two). Best idea ever! Frankie & Lola's was FABULOUS! (Another review)

Back to the room. Our refrigerator started off like a mo-ped. We guessed it made about eight different noises throughout the night. The second night, we unplugged the unnatural thing even though we had food in it. The beds were comfortable, but, on some sort of metal frame that CREAKED with every move. During one shower the water ran cold - possibly because of our neighbor. It didn't last too long, thankfully, and only happened once.

We had no issues with the fireplace heater. If anything, I can say we left the thermostat a little too high during the night and were very toasty!

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Would we stay again? Possibly. It all depends on the rates!

Room Tip: Rooms facing west have a view of the rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Barbara

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your stay was at our Inn. We sincerely apologize for any challenges you experienced while staying with us. We have tried to reach out to you by telephone however we have not heard back, so if you have a moment please give us a call at your convenience.

We look forward to speaking to you soon and hope you will give us another chance to earn your business in the future.

Take care,

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $110 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing