We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect! Funky, Quaint, Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Laguna Beach,California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect! Funky, Quaint, Clean”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Just spent the past weekend at Beach Bungalow Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews!..

I chose it over #1 and #2 spots, and after walking by those places, very happy we did.. We liked not being right down on the main street and yet ours was easy walking distance for us as we did go down to dinner and to breakfast both days.. Liked the 5 min walk!

Really a very nicely updated motor hotel... The rooms are very clean, well kept, and the room decor made us feel we were staying in some upscale place with the great bedding, toliet items, linens, and furniture plus the use of big oversized soft warm robe and slippers. We loved having the refrigerator to put snack items and our own alcohol and beer into. Ice machine was available. Gas fireplace that was thermostatic controlled was very unique and gave that warm romantic feeling all through the nite..

Our room, #6 Dune.. had a great view of the rock. The first night we sat outside our door and had a drink as we watched the sunset, then sat by the fire pit for a bit. Next night was chilly, so we opened the shutters and sat looking out our window at the sunset and the rock view as the sun streamed in. It also looked over the front garden area. Loved the windows and shutters! They closed up nicely also, so the next morning not to bright in the room.

Staff was great giving us directions and setting us up.

Our package included 2 full breakfast vouchers for 3 different nearby restaurants.. We chose Frank and Lola's down on the Embarcadaro. It was absolutely fabulous!! We loved the gourmet take on breakfast classics with great coffee. ( Which brings me to the ONLY real disappointment... in room "individual size coffeemakeer/ pods were just not even bearable... tasteless and weak even using 2 pods... So if you are a coffee person... bring your own.) They did have nice glass mugs and glasses and the little real half and half.. But, sorry, coffee didn't make it for us. I would recommend going to a larger coffeemaker so you could make a pot of coffee and enjoy it together.

Room Tip: # 6 Dune.. Liked the view, however walls are thin and we could hear very clear talking on both sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havingfuneveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picade, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Hello Havingfuneveryday!

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments. We are a small family owned business and we really want to make every guest visit special and relaxing. It is nice to arrive to our small Inn, park your car and walk to everything you need! We are glad you liked the fireplace and the room design too. Please let us know when you are returning to Morro Bay. The staff is looking forward to helping you have fun every day of your visit.

Sincerest Regards,

Joan Solu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    142
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
146
331
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This place is such a great take on a classic old motor lodge. The way the rooms have been redone are really lovely, elegant and very comfortable. The staff is uber pleasant, attentive and accommodating. Great for traveling with a pet. I have to look no further for lodging when ever I'm in Morro Bay. The only thing I would add would be a separate container for recycling. But for the price, it's a great find, really a treat.

Room Tip: The Pacific unit is great for a larger group, because of the 2 separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florafuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We loved this place!!

I've booked this place based on the tripadvisor reviews and I wasnt disappointed. We arrived at around 20.00 and as this is a family business there was nobody there to receive us, but they left the envelope with our names and the room keys there for us, so all was ok.

The rooms are really well decorated, very modern and stylish, you might not think that once you see the place from outside, as it looks as any ordinary hotel in America, but is very stylish and we loved that. Also, the rooms are very big, with lots of space and even a chimney, which we also enjoyed very much!!

They give you a voucher to have breakfast at a selection of local diners and cafes, we choose the one the owner recommended and we were more than happy with it.

At night you can hear the seals from Morro Bay, at the begining I didnt know what was that noise, then I realized it was the seals.

From the hotel you can easily walk a few blocks and you will be at the sea and will be able to see the seals, really nice.

I definetly will recommend this place to all the people I know that will visit Morro Bay, it was not expensive compared to other alternatives in the area and we got a great room.

Room Tip: any room would be a good choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pati-chueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Very clean and affordable spot in Morro Bay. We enjoyed the charming tourist town and will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k890290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a Sand Dollar room in Nov 2011 for four nights. It's a charming, old fashioned motor hotel. The staff was fantastic and eager to please. The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. The problem was the size of our room--it was tiny. It was so small, it was hard to even move around. No closet--two hooks were provided to hang clothes. One desk chair is provided but the bed's the only other place to sit. The bathroom was small, too... very little space for your toiletries. Heat's provided by a gas fireplace--kinda cool but takes forever to warm the room on a cold night. If we visit Morro Bay again, we'll likely try to find something with larger rooms--a view would be nice, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave73y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picade, Managing Partner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
I was sorry to read that the Sand Dollar room did not meet your needs while you stayed with us. The single queen configuration is cozy.

At the time you placed your reservation the Sand Dollar was the only room available for 4 consecutive nights. Please consider our single king rooms the Estero or Monarch which are both more than double the Sand Dollar in size and the Estuary or Sandspit which are nearly triple with the "top of the Rock" views for your future visits to Morro Bay. All 4 of the single king rooms have closets or armoires and slipper chairs or seating areas with either an activity table or coffee table, and plenty of room to relax by the fireplace and read a book or chat.

We do hope that you return.

Joan Solu - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have been coming to Morro Bay for years as a half way point between N, and S. California. This year I tried this 'boutique style motel' after reading the reviews
on Trip Advisor. What a find! The best feature is the bed/bedding. It may have been the best nights sleep I have ever had. Once you are in your bungalow room, you feel you are the only guest as it is very quiet and cozy. I was impressed with the details these thoughtful owners have included in your room, including a night light for the bathroom and quality shampoo, soap, lotion, etc. They have a visitors journal available in the room to write and share your experience in Morro Bay and the Inn. Most impressive is the complementary breakfast at one of three fantastic local restaurants. (Frankie and Lolas is the bomb!!! I had enough food for 3 which was delish!! I hated to leave after my stay, but had to get on to LA. I hope to stay here again over the Christmas holiday. Try it, you'll love it.

Room Tip: I think each room has something special to offer. It is so charming, you can't go wrong. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemergal320ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites mid-October. We needed a place to stay for one night along the route from Santa Barbara to Monterey, and Morro Bay was the right distance to nicely break up our drive. Research on TripAdvisor brought us to Beach Bungalow.

We found the room to be beautifully renovated, spotless, spacious and exactly as represented in photos.

Our room was equipped with a king bed, crisp white linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, wood floors, mini refrigerator, and gas fireplace. The room and bathroom was immaculate.

As previously mentioned, photos of the entrance/outside area don’t do it justice. The inn has a gas operated fire pit and Adirondack chairs for guests. A nice touch and a perfect place to watch the sun set.

Breakfast is included with your stay. The staff recommended we try Frankie & Lola’s which was a short walk away. The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was great.

The only head-scratchers were loud noises in the middle of the night: one was from a street sweeper and the other sounded similar to a fog horn but wasn't (I'm from the east coast and am familiar with what a fog horn sounds like).

Would recommend and would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing