We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durango
2 reviews
“Loved, loved, loved it!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a good recommendation for this hotel, and it really lived up to it's billing! Upon arriving, the hotel attendant was very helpful. He showed us to our room and was attentive to all of our questions. We quickly found our way to the "patio fire pit" area and met up with some other travelers. It was a very friendly atmosphere. The room was very comfortable and the beds were extremely comfortable. We loved the "retro" feel with updated rooms. The breakfast vouchers for local restaurants were really a nice touch. No continental breakfast here, you get a filling, hot restaurant breakfast. This hotel was very peaceful, quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancystil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    142
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
147
336
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I found this place on Trip Advisor, and we stayed there a couple of days ago. All the positive reviews are spot on This is a great place to stay. Price is reasonable, all the amenities of a five star place, nice comfortable bed with sparkling white linens, fireplace with wide screen tv over it, hardwood floors, clean and comfortable. Make a reservation if you're going through Morro Bay, most places had vacanciesbut I think this place was full while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clues5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were driving down Hwy 1 for our Honeymoon and reserved a room at the Beach Bungalow before we left the island and after reading the reviews! The room was great and super clean. This is a small motel that has a really pleasant and relaxing feeling. After coming for my wife's first trip to the mainland we believe that this place had the most Aloha Spirit of our entire trip. The bed was Ono! and we slept like babies for the first time on our trip. We liked it so much and enjoyed everything that we felt lucky when we went to the office and requested a second day and they had the room for us. So, we stayed another night and changed the rest of our trip. We did a cruise of the bay because Taylor at the office recommended it and it was really fun. He also helped us rent SUP's to check out the bay on! He was super helpful and made us dinner reservations at the Galley and the fresh fish tasted as good as the fish at home. The room was large and decorated very beach without being obvious and my wife loved the fireplace. Best of all when the owner found out it was our Honeymoon they gifted us a bottle of champagne! Oh yeah, don't miss the breakfast (included with you room) at Frankie and Lola's in the morning! Morro Bay was really fun and this was the best place we stayed on our trip to California.

Room Tip: Fireplace is awesome we don't have one in Hawaii
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DbeyHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I selected this motel strictly from the "Trip Advisor" reviews - and they were spot on!
Let's start with the owners, John and Joan Solu. This couple was so pleasant, so outgoing, that it felt like you were visiting family instead of vacationing. They were extremely accommodating and very helpful.
The motel was gutted and renovated in a retro format, and they did an outstanding job. There's not a lot of amenities on premises (no restaurant or gym), but the room had a high quality, comfortable bed, fireplace, bathrobes, a nice flatscreen TV, a refrigerator, WiFi and a large bathroom. The surrounding area is very quiet and only a couple of blocks from the embarcadero. The room comes with breakfast vouchers for one of 3 restaurants. Frankie and Lola's (where I opted) was as good a breakfast as I've had in a long time. Don't miss it.
This is a great motel, and I'll definitely be back on my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Loved this place!! My husband found the place online & we both fell in love with the bungalow. Cozy room & a very comfortable bed. It also came with a free full breakfast you got to choose from 3 different places in town. We chose Frankie & Lola's & the breakfast and it was fantastic. Right on the Embarcadero with a beautiful view of Morro Rock. Oh and the bed in Butterfly Suite was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshliR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We happened to discover this hidden gem last year right after it opened. Our experience was outstanding and a year later (this visit) we weren't disappointed. The rooms were clean, clean, clean and the hardwood floors were still gorgeous, as were the furnishings and bed linens. The flatscreen TV, fireplace, small refrigerator and coffee maker offered plenty of options for stying in when the weather turned drizzly and cool; the free breakfast coupons are a fabulous treat. We loved jogging down to the boardwalk (2 blocks) when the sun came out and there is plenty of action down there on a beautiful day. We'll be back and we'll bring several couples with us so they will discover this gem, too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a really nice and comfortable stay in this hotel. Front desk personnel was very friendly and they were pretty much available if you had additional questions. There were coupons given for breakfast that you can use in a restaurant of your choice (out of 3 restaurants). But most importantly, we really appreciated that the room itself is both very clean and modern. It looks exactly like the photos, if not better -- modern interior, hardwood floors, flat tv, fireplace and a moderately spacious bathroom. The toiletries are Neutrogena just in case you are curious. We did not have problems connecting to the wireless internet unlike the reviewer below, but perhaps it's because we stayed in the Estero Room which is right next to the office. We also did not hear much noises eventhough it's next to the road. Also, I think that each bungalow is separated from the other by a parking garage, so you don't need to worry about next-door noise as well.
We paid $150 for the room, including tax, so for this price range, I would say that it's pretty much worth it. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishNut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing