We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Short Escape to Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Estero Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estero Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Short Escape to Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great small hotel in Morro Bay, right by the bay, overlooking the lovely Morro Rock.
The place is wonderful, with the most beautiful dunset over the water ever seen by us.
The rooms are very comfortable and nice. The servixe was very friendly, and they assisted us to find nearby attractions. Parking is by the room.
We rented a Kayak for an hour and could get several meters away from the local sea lions.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room looking directly to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    57
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
253
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We had the Marina Suite, the view was amazing, we saw nothing but sea and boats! The rooms are new and have big bathrooms and are very large. The staff is very friendly and gave us great tips for restaurants and hiking. Breakfast is okay, the dining room isn't very pretry but there is enough space in the rooms. The inn is located in the middle of Morro Bay, restaurants, shops and attractions are in walking-distance. It is very quiet, we had a long sleep :) I would return!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJDelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This inn is a rare, delightful find. The ground floor rooms are literally over the water, with a great deck immediately adjacent to the harbor/marina. The rooms are comfortable and very well appointed, even with fresh roses and locally made taffy left in the room. The views of the water and Morro Rock are great. This is a relaxing place to just enjoy nature and the sounds of the sea, including seals and pelicans. There is a large flat-panel tv in the room, but we never turned it on, opting instead to just enjoy the quiet. The bed is comfortable, the pillows are great, there is a nice desk, sofa and chairs, along with a gas fireplace, and free wi-fi. I can't say enough about this inn -- it was a marvelous stop along a California coastal vacation that included many nice inns and hotels -- this ranked at the top.There was no noise from other rooms -- some traffic noise as it is close to the street, but it was not bad at all as there really isn't much traffic at all along this quaint waterfront street. I love a peaceful place and this offered the tranquility I enjoy.

The staff is absolutely the best ever -- very helpful with dinner reservations, business services, or whatever you need. The continental breakfast that is included is great with endless delicious coffee and juice, pastry and so on. This is a small inn, so reservations are highly recommended. This is a place I will definately return to again. A five-star rating does not do them justice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeiMomiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is right on the water and in minutes walk to shops and restaurants. The marina in the bay provides a beautiful place to watch the sunset. The "rock" is cool. You'll know what I mean when you get there. The staff is really really helpful and friendly. In fact, I'd say, over-the-top with gracious service. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, clean and very nice. The property is extremely well maintained and parking is private and controlled. Breakfast is provided in the morning and, although a continental breakfast, is much higher quality than usual continental breakfast with fresh cut fruit (melon and berries) and fresh coffee, cereal, yogurt, muffins, etc. Our room had a fireplace and a nice TV as well as a mini kitchenette. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Inn on this past 4th of July.I too have always wanted to stay on the waterfront and see somee fireworks!!!!! Room had some sutle upgrades havent seen in a while on our past travels. The shower had upgraded tiles instead of the traditional little colorful sqares seen in most showers. The room had nice white trim all around the room which is an upgrade the owner /conracter difinitely added to separate the wall from the ceiling. What we like most was the port hole window giving it that youre on a ship cruise. We met the owner at the barbque he put on for the hotel guests that evening and enjoyed what he offered his guests and co-workers. Our view was Morro rock which was fine but next yeat got to get the opposite wing which had the view of the fireworks from the local park, other than that we enjoyed our stay....Romeo L. and Sarah

Room Tip: rooms were small but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romero163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night, and really enjoyed this hotel. We have stayed in Morro Bay many times in the past, and have always been forced to stay back from the water since most hotels are located at least two blocks from the wharf. Estero Inn is located right on the water, within steps of restaurants, shops, etc.

The hotel is almost new, and very modern. Rooms were good sized and very clean. Note that they may not be "suites," (with separate sitting and sleeping areas) despite the fact that most are referred to as such. Our room had a gas fireplace, small balcony, sink, refrigerator and microwave. Perfect for two people. We had a great bay view, helpful staff, a nice continental breakfast, and a very nice stay. We will be back!

Also, ask the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations and recommendations for local activities. We were given great advice on a short hike to the top of one of the "Seven Sisters," and were amazed by the view of the entire bay and surrounding region. We have come here for years and had no idea.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StupidTArulesName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 4th of July at the Estero Inn. We are frequent visitors of the west coast and are familiar with Morro Bay and many other coastal locations in the area. Upon arriving, I was surprised to see that the hotel was more like a bed and breakfast than a typical tourist hotel (which can be a good thing). The staff pleasantly greeted us and informed us there would be a BBQ in the parking lot for hotel guests starting around 3:30 until the food was gone. We did go down to the BBQ later. We met the owner who was there socializing and cooking. The food was delicious and we felt very welcome. When we arrived in the room however, I was floored by how TINY the room was. We stayed in the Bay View Suite. When I hear suite, I think space. There was absolutely zero space in the room. But, the view was spectacular! The wrap around balcony was very nice, although not wide at all (my husband could not pass me easily if wanting to go back into the room). And, most importantly, the room was VERY clean! I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend this to others. Just know, you are not getting a very large room for the price. You are paying for the location, view, and quality which are all well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Inn

Property: Estero Inn
Address: 501 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estero Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy magnificent Morro Bay views from the luxurious comfort of your Estero Inn Hotel suite. All the amenities you want, just walking distance from Morro Bay shopping, dining, kayaking, fishing. Not to mention proximity to the finest California wine tasting and most beautiful sightseeing and whale watching the state has to offer. We are located just 30 miles from the world famous Hears Castle! Don't forget to visit the exciting elephant seals just a few miles north from Hearst Castle! Treat yourself to the Morro Bay waterfront experience and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Estero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estero Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing