We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Inn”
Review of Estero Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estero Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This inn is a rare, delightful find. The ground floor rooms are literally over the water, with a great deck immediately adjacent to the harbor/marina. The rooms are comfortable and very well appointed, even with fresh roses and locally made taffy left in the room. The views of the water and Morro Rock are great. This is a relaxing place to just enjoy nature and the sounds of the sea, including seals and pelicans. There is a large flat-panel tv in the room, but we never turned it on, opting instead to just enjoy the quiet. The bed is comfortable, the pillows are great, there is a nice desk, sofa and chairs, along with a gas fireplace, and free wi-fi. I can't say enough about this inn -- it was a marvelous stop along a California coastal vacation that included many nice inns and hotels -- this ranked at the top.There was no noise from other rooms -- some traffic noise as it is close to the street, but it was not bad at all as there really isn't much traffic at all along this quaint waterfront street. I love a peaceful place and this offered the tranquility I enjoy.

The staff is absolutely the best ever -- very helpful with dinner reservations, business services, or whatever you need. The continental breakfast that is included is great with endless delicious coffee and juice, pastry and so on. This is a small inn, so reservations are highly recommended. This is a place I will definately return to again. A five-star rating does not do them justice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeiMomiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 385 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place is right on the water and in minutes walk to shops and restaurants. The marina in the bay provides a beautiful place to watch the sunset. The "rock" is cool. You'll know what I mean when you get there. The staff is really really helpful and friendly. In fact, I'd say, over-the-top with gracious service. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, clean and very nice. The property is extremely well maintained and parking is private and controlled. Breakfast is provided in the morning and, although a continental breakfast, is much higher quality than usual continental breakfast with fresh cut fruit (melon and berries) and fresh coffee, cereal, yogurt, muffins, etc. Our room had a fireplace and a nice TV as well as a mini kitchenette. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Inn on this past 4th of July.I too have always wanted to stay on the waterfront and see somee fireworks!!!!! Room had some sutle upgrades havent seen in a while on our past travels. The shower had upgraded tiles instead of the traditional little colorful sqares seen in most showers. The room had nice white trim all around the room which is an upgrade the owner /conracter difinitely added to separate the wall from the ceiling. What we like most was the port hole window giving it that youre on a ship cruise. We met the owner at the barbque he put on for the hotel guests that evening and enjoyed what he offered his guests and co-workers. Our view was Morro rock which was fine but next yeat got to get the opposite wing which had the view of the fireworks from the local park, other than that we enjoyed our stay....Romeo L. and Sarah

Room Tip: rooms were small but adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romero163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night, and really enjoyed this hotel. We have stayed in Morro Bay many times in the past, and have always been forced to stay back from the water since most hotels are located at least two blocks from the wharf. Estero Inn is located right on the water, within steps of restaurants, shops, etc.

The hotel is almost new, and very modern. Rooms were good sized and very clean. Note that they may not be "suites," (with separate sitting and sleeping areas) despite the fact that most are referred to as such. Our room had a gas fireplace, small balcony, sink, refrigerator and microwave. Perfect for two people. We had a great bay view, helpful staff, a nice continental breakfast, and a very nice stay. We will be back!

Also, ask the front desk staff for restaurant recommendations and recommendations for local activities. We were given great advice on a short hike to the top of one of the "Seven Sisters," and were amazed by the view of the entire bay and surrounding region. We have come here for years and had no idea.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StupidTArulesName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 4th of July at the Estero Inn. We are frequent visitors of the west coast and are familiar with Morro Bay and many other coastal locations in the area. Upon arriving, I was surprised to see that the hotel was more like a bed and breakfast than a typical tourist hotel (which can be a good thing). The staff pleasantly greeted us and informed us there would be a BBQ in the parking lot for hotel guests starting around 3:30 until the food was gone. We did go down to the BBQ later. We met the owner who was there socializing and cooking. The food was delicious and we felt very welcome. When we arrived in the room however, I was floored by how TINY the room was. We stayed in the Bay View Suite. When I hear suite, I think space. There was absolutely zero space in the room. But, the view was spectacular! The wrap around balcony was very nice, although not wide at all (my husband could not pass me easily if wanting to go back into the room). And, most importantly, the room was VERY clean! I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend this to others. Just know, you are not getting a very large room for the price. You are paying for the location, view, and quality which are all well worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I just visited Estero Inn, as a midway point on our trip down the California coast. We weren't sure what to expect... we were AMAZED at how cute, clean, comfortable and classy the room and facility is. We've stayed at a few Cali hotels that are considered in the luxury category and this place ranks right up there! It's completely updated, private and in a quiet area of the community. The staff stayed late to make sure we could check in and were very friendly. We wished we had more time to stay another night or two!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was not really prepared for how touristy—think seashell curtains— Morro Bay's Embarcadero was, but the Estero Inn was a world away from all that even though it's right there! I stayed in the smallest of the eight rooms, the Bay Suite, located at the back of the Inn, but it was perfect! I still had a beautiful view of the bay with moored sailboats, plus a super-comfy bed. Although the bathroom is just a regular small bathroom, the details made it much nicer: an especially deep tub with a great shower head, plenty of fluffy towels, and nice lighting. I asked housekeeping to leave me extra coffee and cream, which they did—so nice! And the front desk staff members were all polite and helpful, too. What a pleasant place to come home to every evening after roaming to Paso Robles and up and down the central coast. The one thing I didn't care for was that the next room's air conditioner extended onto my balcony, dripping a stream of water when it was turned on. It was also loud when the door to the balcony was open. But that's a small complaint given how nice the inn was overall!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sprocketella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Inn

Address: 501 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $189 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estero Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estero Inn is an intimate waterfront boutique hotel situated on the scenic Morro Bay Embarcadero. Whether looking for a romantic getaway or a quick stopover along your California Coastal journey, the Estero Inn is your ultimate location. Gently removed from the Pacific Coast Highway, our Embarcadero location provides exceptional shopping and dining interests all within walking distance. Enjoy magnificent Morro Bay views from the comfort of your private balcony in your luxurious suite. Observe playful otters, sea lions and seals from the warmth of your room or from our seaside landing. Experience kayaking, fishing, paddle boarding, boating, whale watching, wine tasting and more within our quaint village. Estero Inn is located less than 30 minutes from the world famous Hearst Castle and over 300 of California's finest wineries. Come for a visit and "Seize the Bay". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Estero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estero Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing