We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice return!”

Morro Bay State Park
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful state park campground is across the road from the beach.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from morro bay state park ... Haven't been there in over 8 yrs ... The redesign is different .. You are up close and personal with other campers .. Really no privacy at your campsite anymore.. We had one of the better sites and enjoyed our stay.. Bathrooms were pleasantly clean usually ( as always some people don't have that respect ) .. Overall it was a nice week ... I remember the old !!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Goirish44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    118
    26
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great place to camp. Close to everything. Bayside Cafe is a fun place to have lunch. And just about 2 miles north, there is a huge/long dog beach. Our Lab loves it! We love visiting Hearst Castle and the Elephant Seals. Perfect for a day road trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank slganser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bay Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great little cafe with a varied menu if you are staying in or near this park. Lovely views of the bay, sailboats and great food. Price is medium range. There is also a lovely walk for birders across from the park among the Eucalyptus trees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I find this park very relaxing and very pleasant to walk in. We stay at the inn inside the park and really enjoy walking in the park and looking at the heron rookery and the museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Keep in mind I'm not much of a camper...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I can count the number of times I've been camping on my fingers. I had never been to this campground before, but it was the only one near the beach that was available. It actually was nice. I like that most of the campground has trees, although our campsite did not. The bathrooms were clean, though lacking in soap. I don't know, maybe that's normal for a campground? There we're showers available but we didn't use them since we were only there one night. The rangers were very present, making rounds several times during our one night stay.

I was a little disappointed that it wasn't closer to a beach. We did enjoy a nice walk across the street at the estuary. There's a boardwalk path that winds around a bit. It's also next to the Morro Bay Natural History Museum, which is rather small, but fun for the kids and free for campers. I also wish there was a market closer for people like me who don't think to pack some camping essentials-would have saved us a trip into town. But all in all it was a good experience and a place I'd return to.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dotfurio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morro Bay State Park also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Morro Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing