We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron and Cormorant Rookery

Ranked #12 of 35 things to do in Morro Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Morro Bay National Estuary, this is a popular place to view a variety of birds.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It smells, but it's something worth seeing! I loved watching the birds. Would have liked to have had more information about the birds on the poster outside the rookery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE THE BIRDS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

my husband & I come here because we love birds. You have to come in April or May if you want to see a lot of bird activity. We love the smells and sights of them flying back and forth making their nests and feeding their babies. We have been coming here for 15 years

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank soozierules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Marvelous - Malodorous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very interesting stop for nature lovers. You can visit the little history museum, then walk to the rookery. The birds are bountiful, so you must just accept that there will be an associated smell. Do visit, just don't plan on picnicking there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lstolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“No Guarantee to See Birds - But Still a Precious Site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

You are not guaranteed to see lots of birds when you go to this site. This is a fenced off area of the coastline in Morro Bay State Park very near the Natural History Museum. I have been there on two separate occasions, once last August and again in January a few weeks ago. On one occasion I did see a lot of cormorants roosting in the trees, but most of my visits I saw very few birds. There may be more activity in the nesting season, which starts about now for the herons and continues into the spring. This site has been used as a rookery for many years. As a result, there has been a lot of bird guano deposited and many of the trees are already dead from the contamination. It is still a very precious site widely recognized for its history and purpose. Stop by Windy Cove right next door to view the shore birds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayucos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Put some vicks under your nose and enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an amazing rookery of great blue herons and cormorants. Yes, when visiting a rookery (any ole rookery) one encounters smells. Keep vicks vapor rub handy and enjoy. My husband and I (locals) have the rookery on our "To Do List," from March to May.
Have I mentioned that great blue herons look prehistoric...?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank denise o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heron and Cormorant Rookery also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Heron and Cormorant Rookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing