We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DiStasio's so good, we went back twice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiStasio's on the Bay

DiStasio's on the Bay
Ranked #71 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful setting overlooking the Rock, the Bay and the Embarcadero. Panoramic view. Every seat has a view and the fireplace adds that cozy feeling. We offer a separate Gluten-Free menu with over 10 entrees. DiStasio's has been in business on the central coast for 17+ years.
SF_California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DiStasio's so good, we went back twice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We liked this restaurant so much we went back two nights in a row. I had the sausage and spaghetti meal the first night and my dad had chicken marsala. He raved about the sauce and I loved my meal as well. It was real Italian food, not something you'd get in a chain Italian restaurant for example. The second night I had veal parmesan and he had the halibut, which was a lighter meal, not really recommended if you are really hungry but good if you want something light. We loved DiStasio's for their real Italian food. The service was good, the wait staff were polite and helpful, and the view was great although the sun was very intense and they had to put down the blinds so the sun wasn't in our eyes, you could still see the rock through them. Very much recommend this restaurant if you are looking for Italian food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank donna_d173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    49
    26
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, great view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I went to DiStasio's on our recent trip to Morro Bay. The menu was primarily northern italian dishes with a lot of good choices. We both chose to have ravioli. She ordered the beef ravioli and I ordered the cheese ravioli and we shared each other's dishes. The marinara sauce which is their own recipe was very good. We asked the server for a wine recommendation and she suggested a pinot noir which was quite good. The prices were reasonable and the service was good. Most tables are by the window which provides a great view of the bay and Morro rock.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think Fear Factor save your money the morning after will not be worth it, a bucket at the table would be!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Family recipe for the marinara was soooo salty it was corrosive. The eggplant parmigiana was more breaking than eggplant. The mozzarella melted on top in a microwave caused the eggplant to become watery in the middle and crunchy on the edge.
The linguine primavera was was not fresh from the garden. The linguine had the flavor of stink beetles. The vegetables were so far from fresh that they were almost not palatable.
As a 28 year resident of Morro Bay I would have expected more from a local restaurant that has a farming region so proximate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiouxMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great to have this place open”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have been coming down to Morro Bay for some time and remember this place was closed for a long time. It is right next door to Dorn's. The food is really good. I had the night's special which was penne pasta with chicken in a Vodka Sauce. I usually eat an entire plate of pasta like this, but in this case, I had to take some home. The prices are very reasonable. I will be back for sure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic and a change of pace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I had been travelling south down the coast from San Francisco and wanted to try something different than another seafood restaurant. Our hotel host suggestion Italian at DiStasio's on the Bay. What a fantastic meal and experience! We ordered a salad and pizza. The salad was excellent and the pizza was too. The ingredients were very fresh and so tasty. The table next to us ordered lasagna and we heard them raving about that as well.

The service was very courteous and efficient and our table, as most of the tables in the restaurant, had a wonderful view out toward the bay and Morro Rock. Two other great things: first, we thought the music was so very beautiful and relaxing and helped to provide such a great atmosphere for a wonderful meal. Also, after paying through our nose to eat seafood restaurants down the coast, we thought the the prices here were very reasonable.

I highly recommend this restaurant. We will definitely eat here next time we are in Morro Bay!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xckier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiStasio's on the Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to DiStasio's on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing