We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, run down rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray's Inn and Gallery
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice location, run down rooms”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Nice views, relaxing place to stay, great place to sit out on deck and enjoy view of harbor, just walk outside to restaurants, shops, & galleries.. Units are cleaned well but rather run-down. I don't mind too much that they are run down, but matresses are hard and very uncomfortable so it can be difficult to get a good night's sleep. Somewhat expensive considering the condition and matresses. Units with futons don't have a comfortable place to sit inside as futons are very uncomfortable for sitting/lounging.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threeonthebay, Owner at Gray's Inn and Gallery, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
This review is pretty accurate except for the fact that early in 2011 all of our mattresses were upgraded and many of our guests have confirmed that the beds are now quite comfortable.
Also, many of our guests like having the queen-size futons in the living rooms. We may, however, be upgrading these futons in the near future.

If you compare our rates with other accommodations in Morro Bay that are right on the bay, you will find we are quite reasonable in price considering that each of our three units has a large patio-deck on the bay and a fully-equipped kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

This was our second stay at Gray's Inn, and again, it was wonderful. There are only three suites here, two downstairs with bedrooms and a smaller studio upstairs. Our first trip we stayed in one of the larger downstairs units, this time we were in the upstairs one. We preferred the upstairs studio; it's smaller, but perfect for just the two of us.

All the rooms have large windows and large porches right on the water, with great views of Morro Rock, many boats, and occasional otters and seals. All units have full kitchens with everying you might need for cooking. Everything was neat and clean, not fancy, but quite comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful. We highly recommend Gray's, our only regret is that we only had time for 2 nights this trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

This is a wonderful, relaxing get away, somewhat obscure, located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay. The three apartment/motel units each have a large patio/deck on the water and fully equipped kitchens. We were quite happy just to stay in our unit and enjoy the view of magnificent Morro Rock. We watched the boats coming and going, a sea lion swam beneath our rooms, and we were within walking distance of most of the restaurants, shops, and activities on the waterfront. It is a wonderful walk to the rock from the Gray's Inn, a great way to start the day. We take our bicycles and enjoy the many bicycle paths in the area. We have been to many upscale hotels and inns, but nothing compares to Gray's Inn for a relaxing vacation. This is our absolute favorite spot on the coast of California!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hikercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PT
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

My Wife and I stayed at this lovely Inn and loved it! We were greeted by a sign on the door with our name, and the keys waiting for us on the kitchen table. What we found was a cute apartment with a wooden deck where you can relax and watch the marine life (seals, pelicans etc) playing in the water so close! Highly Recommended for tourists and romantic getaway! We could only stay for one night but promised next time we'd take more time in Gray's Inn and Gallery!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ABZPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We are from the UK and were driving from Phoenix to San Francisco and we arrived completely on speck and were so lucky to get the room or rather apartment. What a fabulous view with decking overlooking the boats and the water. We could not have asked anymore, the place was perfect. The lady who showed us the room was looking after the place for their friends whilst they were away and she was sweet and loved the place too. We had one double room, a double futon, kitchen, dining area, and bathroom. There was off road parking as well. We watched the pelicans diving for fish and the seals swimming past. There were plenty of great eating places near by.

I could have stayed for ever, we all said we would come back.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BikerchickMorroBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sail Inn
Blue Sail Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Inn and Gallery

Property: Gray's Inn and Gallery
Address: 561 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2217
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray's Inn and Gallery is a three-unit inn on the water in beautiful Morro Bay. Each unit has a full size kitchen, a full size bathroom, and a large full bay patio-deck on the water with great views of the entire bay and Morro Rock. We have the largest rooms and the largest outdoor decks of any hotel on the water here in Morro Bay. Each deck has a 4-person table, 4 chairs, and 2 full-size chaise lounges. The two downstairs units each have a separate bedroom with a king-size bed, a queen-size futon in the living room, and can easily sleep up to 4 people. There is one unit upstairs with a king-size bed and will accommodate two people. The art gallery has featured works by Robert Gray and other local artists of the central coast area. We'd love to have you stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grays Inn And Gallery Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing