We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy with our stay”
Review of Bayfront Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very unhappy with our stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were so small we couldn't even walk around in the room so had to go outside and sit at a table in order to visit with our family celebrating her 60th birthday. We were playing cribbage a board game at 2pm and were told we couldn't play there we were talking to loud at 2pm and guest were checking in and it was quiet time!! I thought quiet time was 10pm must of read the sign wrong. We left for the day and came back and lynne the lady working there was flashing her porch light off and on saying shhhh Quiet! The walls are so thin you can hear every snore baby crys and toilets flushing she was trying to hide for new guest checking in. We spent $700 for 3 nights for 2 rooms. We were very disappointed and wanted ti check out but of course no refunds. Thanks for ruining our stay Lynne!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sandie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Unfortunately, management must respond when there are complaints made by other guests and in this case it was because of the excessive and unnecessary level of shouting. When we asked this guest party just to be a bit quieter, they apologized, and said they understood and even apologized again the next day. No one asked to check out early. When one of their party got lost, we offered to help find them. Every evening we test the lighting due to the front signage. One evening at midnight it was necessary to ask one of the female members walking their dog to be quiet (again) because her voice was carrying across the courtyard; again responding to a complaint from unrelated guests. We wish we never had to uphold and enforce policies, because when we do, we get negative reviews such as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    156
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
271
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a beautiful, welcoming down to earth Inn the owners are friendly and knowledgable. The location could not be better. Your dog will get the royal treatment and welcome. You can get great advise on pet friendly hikes and restaurants. The extras- fresh cinnamon roles, drinks and treats in your room, coupons for free wine tasting and fish and chips make this a great value. Rooms have original art. Cable TV, Wi- Fi, overhead fans , comfortable beds, nice toiletries, and the. There is a welcome gift bag for your dog. The extras did not end! ( coffee and continental breakfast too). there is an overall funky and charming character to the Inn. I extended my stay an extra night and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLK1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for your descriptive and honest review. Come again and thanks for staying the extra night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The locations is excellent! Walk to Morro Rock one direction or down the Embarcadero the other. The extras were the best we've ever had at a hotel.....cinnamon rolls each morning; basket in the room with taffy, popcorn and hot chocolate; mini refrigerator with water and juice; etc. Staff was great. Sadly, we happened to be there the one weekend in months that it rained and didn't get to enjoy the outdoor areas as much so that will be something for next time. We had room 12 which was perfect for the view. The rooms are small but neat and very clean. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd level have a perfect view of the harbor and Morro Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. Hope you get to come back to Morro Bay when the weather is better, but in any weather it is a wonderful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Small but clean room. Clearly an older place. We slept well just across the street from the water. This is a reasonably price place to sleep right in the heart of the Embarcadero. If you want fancy or new look elsewhere.

Room Tip: A rock view room is worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, General Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Yes, we are right on the Embarcadero. One of the older hotels here, we keep it well maintained. Glad you slept well on our new beds and we pay a lot of attention to cleanliness. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Bay Front Inn is our quaint little home in Morro Bay! Small but comfy! And the view from the room is AWESOME! Watching sunset behind the Rock and people watch while lounging at the porch!! And the free cinnamon every morning from Frankie & Lola's next door is a +++!! We added a zebra ducky to hotel's collection!! Jayne & the staff are the best!! We will definitely go back here!! This is a late review but would like to share our experience. We were there on President's day week. The convenience of leaving the car behind and just walk around the area is the added attraction!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for this review....AND your duck contribution to our rubber duck pond - hay how did you like the almond brittle? How much weight did you gain from the cinnamon buns and the snacks in your room --- just kidding. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over president's day weekend. Very friendly personal service. The rooms were recently remodeled & though small, were very comfortable. The location was right across from the big rock & within walking distance to many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Glad you got what we are about...great location, clean, comfort, perks, and low key fun. Hope you got your yummy cinnamon buns in the am. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I would never have picked the Bayfront Inn,if it wasn't for the other reviews I had read.But we took the plunge and were very pleased with the result.This is a motel,not a resort,and it is everything a motel should be.The staff are excellent and very friendly.The rooms are a reasonable size,but more than adequate,as we only showered and slept there.There was a fridge,TV,free WiFi,which was very good,a bowl of treats by the bed,water and juice in the fridge,and the big plus,spotlessly clean.The location could not be better in Morro Bay,close to the water,restaurants,bars,cafes.Some of the wonderful bonuses were the breakfast in "The Galley" in the morning,this we did not expect,a free wine tasting at a near by wine bar,a free cinnamon bun from the bakery next door,in the morning,a pleasant treat as we headed off to Santa Barbara.
If you are heading to Morro Bay,you will not be disappointed,if you looking for a clean,friendly and helpful motel to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XLPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hey...Thanks Australia for your nice review. You explain it all! Hope you remember us to your friends down under.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing