We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bayfront Inn, the best location in Morro Bay”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Morro Bay is a fishing village halfway between LA and SF. It is also a center for surf, seals, otters, whales and all kinds of bird life. The mix of tourism and fishing make this town vibrant and interesting to visit. The Bayfront Inn has the optimum location. The closest hotel to the beaches and at the sametime located between the two best restaurants: Giovanni Seafood for fresh steamed Dungeness carb and the Dockside Fish market where they will prepare the catch of the day by local fishermen, along with very cool jazz from local musicians.

The Bayfront has postage-stamp sized rooms, but the owners have a heart the size of Texas. Their specialty is distribution of coupons to guide you to the best spots in town. So you get to experience sensational cinnamon rolls for breakfast, Giovanni's fresh seafood, and a lot of really good inside advice about where to go to experience the best of local specialties. While the rooms are small, all the charm is outside, so we did not mind.

The management keeps the price very reasonable, The breakfast is ok (eggs, cereal, good coffee and fresh fruit) and the location is great. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor for a view ot the rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you for enjoying Morro Bay. Our rooms are small, clean and cozy. The weather while you were here was perfect for your exploration and painting ( like us on facebook and please post some of your Morro Bay paintings). Glad you could be with us for such a long period of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 462 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Wonderful little Inn, right on the Harbor, view of Morro Rock. We stayed with our 3 dogs, they had blankets, bowls, and doggie goodie bags. The room is immaculate as are the entire premises. The management is very accommodating, helpful and friendly. You can walk anywhere and many of the local places are pet friendly. I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone. The rooms are small but have everything you need. We have already booked our next vacation there!

Room Tip: there are a variety of rooms, make sure they know your needs. Very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadiemae08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your "best friends" with us! Glad all of you had a great time. Hope you got to the dog friendly off leash beach...that's a true treat for all. Did your dogs enjoy the USA made snacks? Let us know if they need Grain Free. Can't wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I kidnapped my husband for his birthday and took him to his favorite spot - Morro Bay. We stayed in this darling little hotel that was perfect for a romantic getaway. The desk clerk was adorable in her furry black hat and very helpful. She gave us coupons for two free ice creams and a ticket for two humongous and delicious cinnamon rolls both mornings at Frankie & Lola's Café in front of the motel. It was within walking distance of everything in Morro Bay. The room was small but well organized so it worked for the two of us. Gorgeous views of The Rock and sunsets over the ocean. We WILL be back!!!

Room Tip: The website does a great job explaining the sizes and views of the rooms. We had Room 12 which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

We are so glad you had a fabo time in Morro Bay and at our little known gem. Yes, rooms small and clean and cozy. Come back and enjoy the Tall Ships, the Monarch Butterflies, the Kite flying weather, and so much more. Thank you for your unsolicited review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night while passing through Morro Bay and were not disappointed. Apart from the value for money and the hotel being opposite the harbour (with a wonderful view of it), we would definitely come back!

The rooms have been recently renovated and are really funky! It is all in the small touches: the owners are so thoughtful and you get free bottles of water and a bowl of assorted candy. The breakfast room is also beautifully laid out.

Very highly recommended :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you so much - makes us feel so good when one takes the time to put forth a review - and its a good one! Come back again and you'll see more changes as we are going room by room with the upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Clean, small room. Nice touch with the free snacks and water. Will definitely be on our list of places to stay in Central Coast. Walking distance to shops and restaurants along the Embarcadero. The 'duck pond' is cool!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trend53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Yes - our duck pond is fun - and did you notice our flamingo eating gnomes? Happy New Year - glad you turned the corner with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I have stayed in 5 or 6 other motels/B&Bs in Morro Bay, but have never returned to the same place twice. We so enjoyed our stay at the Bayfront Inn that we are making it our "official" home-away-from-home when we visit Morro Bay. Thank you for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: Room #14 has a wonderful view of the sunset from the king-sized bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hey thanks you two - come back soon! We were slammed Christmas Eve but just had a great time with the guests and enjoyed warm weather too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It is a special inn. The location is perfect. We had the room above the reception, with a beautiful view on the little harbor. In the harbor we saw sea lions, pelicans, gulls (of course) and sea otters. The room was small, but nice. We had a jacuzzi in the room, there was a basket with sweets and free drinks in the fridge. The woman in the reception was kind. The breakfast was okay, but we loved the (free) cinnamon roll, we got at the cafe next door.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dingena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay...and the cinnamon buns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $84 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing