We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lots of nice touches”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and lots of nice touches”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

You simply can't beat the location in Morro Bay. It's directly across from a marina and a short walk to the rock, and a shorter walk to many of the good seaside restaurants. The rooms are small, but quite serviceable and well designed to make use of the available space. The bathroom was bigger than many of the hotel/motel bathrooms we had on this trip. All of the other nice little touches and freebies are great. There was a bowl of candy and snacks in the room, plus water and juice. Make sure to get your cinnamon buns in the morning before deciding if you need anything else for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks! We love it when you love it. What we try to do is give to our guests what we would like to have when we travel. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    156
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
271
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in August 13 on our road trip. What a fantastic find this hotel is, right on the waterfront and such a friendly welcome. Small but tidy room, plenty of offers to help your stay, breakfast in the galley. Great value, lovely customer service, top location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. It means alot to us that you took the time to review us as many people read reviews. We try very hard being an independent run operation - we give what we would want when we travel. Hope you will make the trip back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were looking for something on the water. There are many choices a few blocks up but we really wanted to be right on the bay. It was wonderful. We walked everywhere,even though we were offered free trolley rides ! The staff was fun,friendly,and informative. It felt more like a family Inn and a nice change from the hotel chains we usually stay at.

Room Tip: It's nice that they have some pet un friendly rooms too ! But if you travel with your pet,this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calio65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. This is a family owned and run Inn. We work the front desk and are simply part of the team. We feel it makes a difference. Glad you liked the location, and the other perks besides the free trolley rides. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I go to Morro Bay frequently but this was the first time staying here. The staff is warm and friendly and very helpful. Yes, the rooms are small but super clean. They shampoo the carpets after every guest! We were given coupons for free things in town (wine tasting, fish & chips, and free cinnamon buns from Frankie and Lola's which happens to be our favorite breakfast place on the central coast). And, there were snacks in our room as well as continental breakfast in the "galley." We had a view of the harbor and rock which was fantastic. We could hear the sea lions from our open window. This is where we will stay from now on.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little hotel. We try to provide the best experience we can for each guest during their stay. Glad you enjoyed all the goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was by far the best hotel we've stayed in over the past 10 years. The room is small but we don't hang out in our room so that didn't matter. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The two office women are very friendly and happy and the property has the same happy colorful decor. Plenty of amenities for the dog (treats, toy, blanket, and a couch the dog could use). Although the hotel offers the usual necessites for breakfast, we had a coupon for the cafe next door "Frankie & Lola's", the best ever breakfast. The previous reviews were helpful especially the one with descriptions of each room and suggested the two rooms for large dogs. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Read a review by a previous customer which has a review on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LARRY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights, July 17-20 and enjoyed every minute. Jayne & Leigh were excellent hosts! Our room (#12) was clean and comfortable. It was small but plenty big for our needs. The bed was VERY comfortable and we slept well listening to the Sea Lions in the distance. The location is fabulous. You can easily walk to all the restaurants & shops along the shore. It is even a short walk up to the places on Main St. The free wine tasting coupon they give you takes you to a fantastic establishment with a great view. This is definitely THE place to stay in Morro Bay. We will be back and next time we'll bring our Shiba-inu!!

Thank you Jayne & Leigh for making us feel like part of the family!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have views from the balcony but we ended up sitting downstairs anyway with other peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights on our anniversary vacation. It is a wonderful home base for the Central Coast, as you can easily drive to places like San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, Hearst Castle, etc. While our room did not have a view of the rock or harbor, the inn is located right across the street from the waterfront. You can walk anywhere along the shops and restaurants of the embarcadero. The rooms are true to their advertising--small, efficient, and clean. We had a pet-friendly room and I was afraid there would be a leftover smell. Inn staff assured us that the carpets are cleaned between each guest and I have every reason to believe this is true. A combination of the room's ceiling fan and screened window made the temperature very comfortable. Both front-office staff members we met were very sweet and helpful. At midweek, we asked about adding a night to our stay, and they made that happen for us. I would have liked other guests to remember that not everyone has to get up and walk their dog at 7:00 in the morning, but that's no reflection on the inn itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing