We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what they present online....”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ukiah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what they present online....”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here during a holiday weekend when we returned home to celebrate the holidays with our local family. While the room was clean, the shower had some stray hairs and extremely small bath towels. My wife is a petite woman (105 pounds with rocks in both her pockets) and couldn't wrap the bath towel around herself. The room was functional. Fortunately we didn't have to spend too much time on premises or in the room.

We had several complaints -
- the gate and courtyard area had a urine aroma. It smelled like bleach splashed around to cover the urine aroma - unfortunately it did not work. Would assume it was from other guests pets or the on site managers dog.
- Second complaint, anytime we walked through the gate, there was a finger that was lifting the on site managers room shades. Nothing like being stalked as you return to your room. Rather creepy.
- Third, my wife and I were going for a walk in the evening, and being from the Central Coast area we know that some evenings, especially in November, December and January, you do not need a jacket. I had the room door open and told my wife in a normal speaking voice that she did not need a heavier jacket for our walk. The on site manager YELLED - yes - literally YELLED at me to be quiet as it was after the 10 pm Quiet Hours. If I am not mistaken, she made more noise than I did by informing my wife she did not need a jacket. I'm not mistaken.
- Fourth, we received a phone call (IMMEDIATELY) after we returned to our room the following night reminding us to 'BE QUIET'. Please see the above comments about being stalked to your room.
- Fifth, the on site manager sat in the darkened office when my wife went to ask a question. She was rude and dismissive to my lovely bride stating "I've been sitting here the entire time waiting for you to say something". That is frightening. Wouldn't you think to ask a guest, a customer (the reason you are in business) how you could help them? Again, creepy. Would question the mental status of the on site manager.
- Sixth, the on site manager was walking her snarling growling dog when another guests child (I would guess about 5 years old) approached the dog and the on site manager YELLED (again, yep) at the child to "GET AWAY FROM THE DOG, DIDN'T YOUR PARENTS TEACH YOU BETTER". Um, wow. Nice customer relations with your guests children.

I'm sure this review will be flagged and responded to with some justification that we were in the wrong. Please take the time to review the other negative reviews and all the justification. Seems odd that the owner/manager would have to dedicate so much time responding to reviews if it is the customer is in error. Yelp is not the only review site that the owner/manager responds with their justifications.

Oh yes, rarely do locals recommend this establishment to their out of town guests. Not a surprise.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attherock, Owner at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We always respond to reviews, good, and questionable. These guests were referred to our hotel by their parents, who are locals, and who took the time to see the room and see our premises ,prior to making and paying for the reservation for their kids. These guests stayed here for 4 nights. Their 4 night stay was last November. During their stay, Management had to ask them on more than one occasion to be quiet because other guests were complaining about them. It is our job to act on complaints by our other guests because we have to accommodate all guests. Our policies specifically state in writing that our Quiet time is at 10pm and when a guest checks in, they are reminded of this. During their stay, the only complaint his guest made was about another guest's dog that was barking. Like with these people, we contacted the dog's owner and asked the dog's owner to be more aware of the dog's barking. This dog's owner was apologetic.
Regarding towels, we use a hotel towel service and have never had a complaint about the size of the bath towels in the past. In fact, just the opposite, we have had guests ask if they could purchase towels from us because of how lush and large they were. Sorry they didn't fit the unique body type of this guest.
We use organic products to wash all areas in our building on a daily basis. There is no "urine" odor perhaps these guests are sensitive to the smell of various cleaning products.
There is no need to be slanderous or name calling, which is what is being done here. We pride ourselves on having 24 hour management that makes our property safe for all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    155
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
268
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for new years & stayed 3 nights. Great hospitality!! Clean & cozy room. Perfect location & great seating areas with views of the bay. Nice conn. breakfast & the cinnamon rolls next door come with your stay...YUMMY!!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friday15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Clean and pleasant. Beds are not brilliant but i wasnt too bothered after a days drive from LA. Location is good on the front and near to the restaurants and shops. Breakfast and hot drink facilities were good and even a free token for a pastry from the bakers next door. I liked it and would thoroughly recommend it as a motel if you are midway between LA and Carmel/San Francisco. Lady owner is pleasant too with a good sense of humour.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinglepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stay here everytime we go back to Morro Bay and are not camping. It's very cozy, personable, and close to everything, and Lee is great. She is very helpful and accomodating, and what is extra at other hotels, is included here. I just made another reservation for this Friday night...can't wait to go back. I also love the fact that it is pet friendly. We have been here with and with out our dog, and it's always nice. We love the Jacuzzi room...:) It's our favorite room...and has the best view!! I have recommended it to some of our friends...and they loved it too!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just stayed @ Bayfront Inn. It was our first time. We would recommend them to anyone that has pets. The staff and Lee were wonderful.I can't express how much we appreicate the wonderful friendly service. We are looking forward to or next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Being pet friendly was what first caught our attention. The friendly, helpful staff, location and the motel overall is what keeps us returning time and time again. A great pet friendly destination. We never think of staying anywhere else but the Bayfront Inn when we travel to Morro Bay and the Central Coast.

Room Tip: We usually book a pet friendly ground floor room, so our dog doesn't have to climb the stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Me and my wife and our son (1,5) drove along california 1 and we found this little pearl Morro Bay. Here we stayed one night at bayfront Inn which is placed close to the fishing-harbour and the big rock. The welcoming was very warm and for the money spent it was a very nice, clean and friendly stay. I would recommend it anytime

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfvfvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing