We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Quiet, Clean place on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We booked this due to reviews from this website. It is right on the front street that parallels the bay. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean but did have a little musty smell to it. I will agree the decor is a little outdated, but no big deal, still in good shape. Rooms have a coffee maker and bachelor fridge. We had a room with the partial view. Very peaceful place. We saw some of the other hotel/motels in the city and were glad we stayed here. Breakfast, in the breakfast room with a great view of Morro Bay and Morro Rock, consisted of the following: Coffee, Milk, Apple & Orange juice, cereal, cinnamon roles, muffins, bagels, toast and hot water to make oatmeal & hot chocolate..enough to get you started for the day. Overall, it was a nice, very clean and well kept place to stay, just don't come with ambitions of a Marriott and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fromsoca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 707 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2007

My husband and I found this hotel to be great. It is a very good bargain for the price too. They had just remodeled before we arrived and the new carpeting and furniture are beautiful. We loved the big continental breakfast with bagels and jam, yogurt, and hot and cold cereal very filling. We received a senior discount of 20% off as well. If you like quiet then this is the place to stay. We walked up to Rosa's landing for a great dinner on their deck which we liked as well. By the way, we both said we have never been greated with such warmth and friendliness while traveling as we did with the girls at the Embarcadero Inn. We needed an extra blanket and it was brought right up. By the way don't miss the car window cleaners in the parking lot! And pick up an apple on your way out the door. I fully recommend this hotel and next time we will bring our entire family to kayak across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hotmama39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

we drove up the california coast for a vacation, our destination was Monterey, and we wanted to take our time up the coast from Los Angeles. We pulled into Morro Bay in the evening and decided to just drive and find a place. Morro Bay is small, there are not alot of choices, and we wanted to be by the water, so this location was perfect. The front desk was very friendly, we looked a room before agreeing to stay there, it was clean, but smelled MUSTY the decor was less than nice, but i'm not a decorator, just needed a place to sleep before heading out, so we were not looking for luxury.. this is not luxury.. we had a 'partial view' which was half of the bay, half of a large boat with a crane on it. the room was pretty quiet, aside from the mini fridge in the room that kicked on through the night, and the fog horn outside that blew most of the night. the breakfast was fine to get us on the road with something in our bellies. the hallways are warped and not even from the moist sea air, as they are outside, and we did stumble a bit trying to walk on them, but not a deal breaker. the best part of this hotel is the location, and the price was not out of control we got a king room for aprox $115 a night. we did have to get a scented candle to help with the musty smell in the room, and we did open the sliding glass door to try to air it out.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank isitfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

We needed a room for 1 night, unfortunately during Spring Break season. I booked through hotwire and got this hotel for $110 total. When we got there around 11 pm, I asked if there was a room with 2 beds since I was travelling with 2 teens. There were none but she offered to bring up a rollaway - for another $10 :(

The youngest got stuck with the rollaway - which was even more saggy than most rollaways I've seen!

The location is fantastic. I got up early and walked around the bay to the beach before the kids woke up.

The breakfast was a step above most continentals.

The place is definitely older, but my worst complaint was the heater in the room. It gets cold at night, so we wouldn't have wanted to sleep without it. But, it's gas, and so everytime the thermostat kicked it on, it made a loud noise and woke me up. Every hour or so ALL NIGHT LONG! I was so tired the next day...

As I noted in my review of the nearby Masterpiece Hotel, Morro Bay is definitely lacking in new, moderate-priced lodging. This makes a place like this, which is clean and safe, seem fantastic compared to the competition. Of the 2, I'd recommend Masterpiece for a better night's sleep, but if you are not picky about sleeping conditions, this one is in a better location. Just don't come expecting much and then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank travelingWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Nice rooms. Pleasant Continental Breakfast provided. Terrific view of Morro Bay. Reasonably priced, non corporate hotel. The owner says hello as you check in. About half an hour from Hearst Castle. Remember to have dinner in the local restaurants before 8:30 because they all seem to close early.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJTRAVELER63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 1 night stay at this motel. We booked it directly through Hotwire and got a fantastic rate for a fairly large room with a view of the Bay.

First, the positive...The view was beautiful from our room and the hotel is in a wonderful location in that it's walking distance from the 'scene.' The hotel staff were also very accomodating about letting us extend our check out 2 hours past the 11 a.m. checkout, which was much appreciated.

My main complaints about the motel is that it's outdated and showing signs of age. Think lacquer furniture..There was a VCR in the room too but come on..Who watches videos today, let alone brings them along when traveling?! My other complaint is that the walls were/are paper thin. It seems the beds back up to eachother on a shared wall, so unfortunately you can hear detailed conversations going on in the rooms next to you.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank oclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

This was our first stop on our family of four Spring break! It was a rainy cool day when we arrived, and I was a little nervous based on a few reviews doing my research. I was pleasantly surprised and all went well. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is an older property, but extremely well cared for, clean and pristine. The room was clean, we did not have much of a view, but we did not pay for the view. Beds were comfortable, we loved the free movie rentals, used the jacuzzi, and when we called for extra towels they brought them right up and would NOT take a tip! Breakfast worked well for us and even for the kids. The breakfast room has a wonderful view.

One feature that was very comforting is the security in the building. All doors and the elevator require a key to enter or use. We felt really safe and so did our two kids. (9 and 12)

We are fairly picky about where we stay. We travel regularly and for the value we felt like it was a great find!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sdsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites

Address: 456 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2573 (Formerly Embarcadero Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $156 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasure, serenity and relaxation await you at the newly redesigned and renovated 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites. Enjoy the tranquility of one of our 33 boutique guestrooms with vistas of Morro Bay Estuary, Morro Rock, the Sandspit and the Pacific Ocean. The Family owned and operated inn is uniquely located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay, California and is pleased to provide pet friendly accommodations. Our guests enjoy strolling to Morro Rock, beaches, parks, shops, restaurants and along the bay to discover beauty and nature. Just minutes to Hearst Castle, Cal Poly, Central Coast Wineries, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, and Montana De Oro State Park, our tranquil rooms and suites, superb service and attention to our guests needs will ensure your visit to Morro Bay is delightful. BOOK DIRECT and SAVE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing