We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the Coast Guard?”

Virg's Landing - Day Trips
Ranked #6 of 16 Tours in Morro Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sportfishing on large boats for rockcod, Lingcod and seasonally salmon and albacore. Also whale watching, dolphins, seals, otters and nature tours. Been in business for over 60 years and LOVE what we do. Come and fish with the BEST Captains on the Central Coast.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Where's the Coast Guard?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Did their whale trip. Crew constantly smoked. If you wanted a break from the weather, you had to go inside, where it smelled like a dirty old ash tray.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank earlsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirgsLanding, Owner at Virg's Landing - Day Trips, responded to this review, June 12, 2016
I purchased Virgs in Feb 2014. I can GUARANTEE that that would not happen now. Come on out again and we will show you a good time.

Denise (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good fishing trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband always goes out on a rock cod trip every October when we are in the Cambria/Morro Bay area. Good prices, good crew and he always comes in with a good catch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Deep Sea Fishing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice crew and staff at the office. Office has moved up one block from the waterfront on Market St. just off Beech St to the North. We all just had a bad day fishing on Wednesday Sept. 19, wind picked up and swells were quite big!! Overall, always nice to get out to do some fishing though!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great with kids and first time fisherman; a fun day of fishing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Wonderful crew that was truly helpful and fun. From the moment we arrived at the offices at check-in, to boarding, fishing, and departing the crew was fun, helpful, and worked their tails off for all the passengers. They were amazingly attentive; as anytime I needed assistance, they seemed to magically appear to help without me even asking once.

The prices were fair and very reasonable; it is an “à la carte” plan – you pay for only what you desire and use - no more, no less. If you have you own reel - no charge, you own hooks and bait - no charge, your own food and beverages – no charge, if you clean you own fish – no charge, if you bring you own towels and bag – no charge, if you have a licenses – no charge. I read some past patrons complained about the extra charges; come-on…get real, for the cheap price they charge for a day of fishing, what do you expect? The base fair was so cheap that I almost did not go for fear that it was “too cheap”. So, expect to pay twice the base rate if you need everything from meals-to poles-to cleaning the fish-to beverages-to the tips…still very reasonable (cost for everything: about $100 to $120 total per person).

They were especially good with kids and first-time fisherman; I will definitely be a repeat guest. Thanks for a wonderful day of fishing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank its_Marci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Defisher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is coming from a guy who has been fishing all his life. All these complaints sounds like not true fisher men! U should no if you get sea sick just throw up over the rail. Not in the bath room. Also if you don't have a rod are gear you have to rent it are by it. It's the same every wear. Yes it's a open party boat there's going to be smoking are drinking on the boat. Morro bay it's rock cod. I don't work here are on boats but all I have to say is the boats are great the crew is good love them. But office ran crapy just go on the boats it if you are a good fisher men you will have a good time trust me

Helpful?
3 Thank Defisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virg's Landing - Day Trips also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Virg's Landing - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing