We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Our family of five loved the Anderson Inn. Molly and Jeff are fantastic hosts and we wish we had more time to enjoy Morro Bay and the Inn. Our room was clean, modern and comfortable. We had a delcious dinner downstairs at the Galley and then enjoyed a great night's sleep in the very comfortable beds. If we are lucky enough to get back to Morro Bay we will stay here again. Thanks to Molly and Jeff for great accomodations.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 607 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

A lovely quiet hideaway right on the harbor in the center of town! The rooms are meticulously and beautifully appointed! Private balconies with view of the Rock. The front rooms have balconies right above the harbor waters: you could dive in! Sea otters, seals and sea lions swim by!
A must see!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieLouquincy_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The Anderson Inn hotel is a great place for resting and enjoying the best view of Morro Bay. The service is wonderful and the place is pretty and cosy like home.
Thanks to all of the Andersons for the great time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yehudilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed at Anderson Inn for two nights in November. Our room was large, well appointed, very upscale, very comfortable and had a fabulous view of the harbor and the Rock. Our host Molly was fantastic, supplying us with information and advice about Morrow Bay, Hearst Castle, and the sea lion refuge to the north. We ate at the restaurant at the Inn, both nights and the food was superb. I am amateur photographer and lucked out as there was a friend there with a boat and he took me for a short photo tour of the bay while my wife Amy checked in. We hit the weather perfectly and I was shooting sunrises from my deck without even going out of the suite. Morro Bay has fantastic scenery and wildlife. We can't say enough superlatives about it and we highly recommend it. You can see my images at: http://www.pbase.com/rickdecker/big_sur.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chxirhcdicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We spent one night and it made a huge impression on my children who declared it 'the best hotel in the world!' which was largely down to Mollie who was so wonderfully welcoming! Morro Bay was lovely and we were pleased we had stopped for the night. The beach and waterfront were beautiful and the Inn itself was very pretty and the rooms a delight. We ate at The Galley where, again, the welcome was just so warm and we were made to feel like old friends. Mollie recommended a breakfast spot which served great pancakes (and they were having the town's weekly vintage car rally outside!). The only elephant in the room was the power station!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet_Daly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Morro Bay is a retirement community with a perfect pace for a great get away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. The people you meet are very friendly and it starts with Molly, the owner of Anderson Inn. I chose an overnight stay at Anderson Inn for my family because of the positive reviews I read from various travel sites. Molly was very friendly and helpful, giving me advice on travel times and various sites not to miss on our coastal drive from San Francisco to Orange County. She was a wealth of knowledge about Morro Bay, it's history, outdoor activities and shopping.
The Inn itself, has 8 rooms, 3 of which have over the water balconies. The room we stayed in was very clean and modern. We had a queen size bed, a roll away bed, an HD t.v., wifi computer hookup, fireplace, and a refrigerator. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub; shower stall with head and body shower heads. The room included spa ammenities and complimentary coffee and water. The balcony overlooked a beautiful view of the bay and the landmark Morro rock. Sea lions abound the bay and frequently swam near our balcony to the delights of our two sons. The room was sound proof tight that during the night, we could barely hear the infrequent barking.
Parking was free and the Galley Restaurant affiliated with the inn was adjacent to the Inn and afforded a lovely menu. The Inn itself was on embarcadero st which was right next to the water and supported many restaurants, delis, shops, cafes, bakeries.
I regret not being able to spend more time at Morro bay, but the next time we do go back, we will definitely stay at Anderson Inn. One night was just not enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoohiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The owners, Jeff and Molly greet you as if taking you into their own home. They are justifiably proud of their hotel and it shows. Molly brought tea to the room when she found out my wife did not drink coffee. Warm and friendly hosts.

We splurged a bit for room 201, over the water, north view. Where else can you sit on the balcony, see large pelicans come in, eye high, bank up and dive into the water right next to a harbor seal?

The room is large and spotless. Free wifi worked perfectly. This is a great little hotel, two huge thumbs up.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: $229 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing