We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Yes, completely agree, really great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
354 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Yes, completely agree, really great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Won't add much more to the reviews already posted, but really glad we stayed in Anderson Inn for a night stop-over while driving down the coast.

Rooms and views over the bay were great, the owner family is wonderful, the town is nice for strolling around and the restaurant (see separate review) was excellent.

All in all, a great place for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
131
329
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It's a shame that so many of the "expert" guidebooks give barely a passing mention of Morro Bay. The town is the perfect resting spot when heading from LA to Monterey or even SF. It is not as crowded as some of the other beach towns along the PCH and certainly not as touristy. It has a working class feel to it, but that is what makes it so charming. Plenty to see and do in town! A post dinner walk out to Morro Rock is a must.

However, if you to stay here, the only place to stay is the Anderson Inn. Though only containing 8 rooms, all of them are spacious and updated. Our room was on the end of the inn, farthest from the bay, and we still had a wonderful view of the bay and Morro Rock. We had a king size bed, raised ceiling, small sitting area, 2 balconies, and a wonderful spa-like bathroom.

But what makes the Anderson Inn the best is the family the owns and runs it. Our interactions were mostly with Molly and she was an absolute delight to work with. She emailed us ahead of time to find out when we would be arriving and if we would like to have milk for our coffee in the room fridge for the following morning. Upon check in she personally showed us to the room (after giving us a wonderful background on the inn and her family) and even made sure we knew how to work the spa shower! Upon check out she walked out with us to the pier and took some pictures with our camera overlooking Morro Rock. She gave us great suggestions of things to do, places to go, and restaurants to eat at not only in Morro Bay but for the rest of our trip to Monterey and beyond.

Room Tip: All the rooms have at least some view of the bay and Morro Rock. Most overlook a small parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burlington367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spacious rooms with balconies. I can't imagine any of them not having an excellent view of Morro Rock. Plenty of room for our family of five and very comfortable beds. The owners, Jeff and Molly, are the most pleasant and hospitable people you will ever meet. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if you find yourself in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in room 202, one of the 3 rooms that overlook Moro Bay and the Rock. The room was luxurious and the view was so splendid that I got up at dawn to see the sun rise over the Bay and the Rock. We saw and heard !!! seals, sea gulls,and white egrets. Our dinner at the Galley was delish.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the Bay. The rooms that only have a view from the balcony are much darke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only had one night at the Anderson Inn, but we wished we could have stayed longer! What a wonderful experience, from the time owner Molly welcomed us personally as we pulled into the parking slot, until we left wishing we could stay another day. Arriving around 6:30 PM, Molly welcomed us, checked us in, and showed us around the property and our room. She gave us some food recommendations, and we decided to eat at the The Galley, which is connected to the Anderson Inn, right on the water. Great seafood, highly recommended. Steps from the hotel are several other meal options, and a kayak rental place that I rented a kayak from the next morning for a quick tour around the bay to look at the sea otters and sea lions. The room, with two beds, was large and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom as large, with a spa type stall shower. I'd never been to Morro Bay before, but I want to go back, and I know where I will stay!

Room Tip: We had two adults and two teenaged children in our two-bed room. It was very nicely sized for the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the waterfront rooms for three nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. (Upscal bottle of champagne provided!). Molly, Jeff and Roger Anderson are wonderful hosts and the Inn has been beautifully restored. Sea Otters floated by directly under our window cracking abalone shells on their chests (that the sea gulls tried to steal from time to time). Seals barked frequently on an artificial island built for their pleasure out in the Bay. (Ear plugs thoughtfully provided in the room but we didn't use them as we enjoyed the sounds of nature.) View of Morro Rock was great. And dinner at the affiliated restaurant The Galley was wonderful too. We are fairly discriminating travelers (meaning capable of being a bit high maintenance if all is not as anticipated), but there was not a single wrong note during our stay. NB: The Inn is about equi-distant between LAX and SFO. We flew into LAX because of the availability of convenient direct flights, but either airport is a fine option for accessing Morro Bay.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are wonderful, so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I went on an impromptu trip with my daughter and her friend. We looked on Trip Advisor for a hotel in Morro Bay and the Anderson in was highly recommended. What a jewel!! We were greeted by Jeff and was told there was one room left. He brought us a roll away bed and cream for our coffee in the morning. The room was lovely!!! The following morning we were greeted by Roger's siblings who were so incredibly nice and gave us extra water bottles for our road trip. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you fellow Trip Advisor members!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Latinmama1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing