We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cozy Inn on Morro Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy Inn on Morro Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We only had one night at the Anderson Inn, but we wished we could have stayed longer! What a wonderful experience, from the time owner Molly welcomed us personally as we pulled into the parking slot, until we left wishing we could stay another day. Arriving around 6:30 PM, Molly welcomed us, checked us in, and showed us around the property and our room. She gave us some food recommendations, and we decided to eat at the The Galley, which is connected to the Anderson Inn, right on the water. Great seafood, highly recommended. Steps from the hotel are several other meal options, and a kayak rental place that I rented a kayak from the next morning for a quick tour around the bay to look at the sea otters and sea lions. The room, with two beds, was large and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom as large, with a spa type stall shower. I'd never been to Morro Bay before, but I want to go back, and I know where I will stay!

Room Tip: We had two adults and two teenaged children in our two-bed room. It was very nicely sized for the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
338
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the waterfront rooms for three nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. (Upscal bottle of champagne provided!). Molly, Jeff and Roger Anderson are wonderful hosts and the Inn has been beautifully restored. Sea Otters floated by directly under our window cracking abalone shells on their chests (that the sea gulls tried to steal from time to time). Seals barked frequently on an artificial island built for their pleasure out in the Bay. (Ear plugs thoughtfully provided in the room but we didn't use them as we enjoyed the sounds of nature.) View of Morro Rock was great. And dinner at the affiliated restaurant The Galley was wonderful too. We are fairly discriminating travelers (meaning capable of being a bit high maintenance if all is not as anticipated), but there was not a single wrong note during our stay. NB: The Inn is about equi-distant between LAX and SFO. We flew into LAX because of the availability of convenient direct flights, but either airport is a fine option for accessing Morro Bay.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are wonderful, so book early if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I went on an impromptu trip with my daughter and her friend. We looked on Trip Advisor for a hotel in Morro Bay and the Anderson in was highly recommended. What a jewel!! We were greeted by Jeff and was told there was one room left. He brought us a roll away bed and cream for our coffee in the morning. The room was lovely!!! The following morning we were greeted by Roger's siblings who were so incredibly nice and gave us extra water bottles for our road trip. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you fellow Trip Advisor members!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Latinmama1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We came for our 10 year wedding anniversary, we stayed 4 amazing nights. Jeff and Molly are great, they made sure we had everything we needed. Upon arrival, we were treated to a bottle of champaign :) we love this place and wouldn't stay anywhere else, while visiting Morro bay. Can't wait to bring our kids for a visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We wanted something extra special to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and from the other reviews, this looked like the place. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Jeff Anderson and at that instant, we knew we'd make the perfect choice! This family, including sister Mollie, and older brother Roger are the nicest people I think I've EVER met. It's very clear, customer service and comfort is of utmost importance to the Anderson family. When Jeff escorted us to our room, we were speechless! We were told we had booked their #1 room and #1 it was! The view was spectacular & comforts endless! The time and detail to creature comforts here was impressive! This was a room we never wanted to leave - and leaving was very hard to do. No doubt, we will be back!!! Thank you Mollie, Jeff & Roger! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevr2old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Came for a short two night stay to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and when we arrived the Andersons (almost all of them) greeted us, and attended to everything, and when there was an unforeseen issue with our reservation, they not only solved the issue for us, they made us feel like we were guests in their house. Jeff, Roger and Molly - they all go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location, the room, the view, the restaurant all wonderful. But what stands out is how hotel guests really are treated like guests of the Andersons. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 201, 202 or 203 for a full on water view, but all the rooms actually have a water view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We rated this as our favourite hotel in 2013, and a second US road trip allowed us to plan to visit again. Molly, Jeff & Roger all came out to greet us when we arrived like returning friends, the room (a bay view) was to die for, a meal at the Galley excellent, and we have promised to stay longer on our next visit. It may be a long way, but we'll be back !
Superb

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing