We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I went on an impromptu trip with my daughter and her friend. We looked on Trip Advisor for a hotel in Morro Bay and the Anderson in was highly recommended. What a jewel!! We were greeted by Jeff and was told there was one room left. He brought us a roll away bed and cream for our coffee in the morning. The room was lovely!!! The following morning we were greeted by Roger's siblings who were so incredibly nice and gave us extra water bottles for our road trip. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you fellow Trip Advisor members!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Latinmama1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
135
334
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We came for our 10 year wedding anniversary, we stayed 4 amazing nights. Jeff and Molly are great, they made sure we had everything we needed. Upon arrival, we were treated to a bottle of champaign :) we love this place and wouldn't stay anywhere else, while visiting Morro bay. Can't wait to bring our kids for a visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelycin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We wanted something extra special to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and from the other reviews, this looked like the place. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Jeff Anderson and at that instant, we knew we'd make the perfect choice! This family, including sister Mollie, and older brother Roger are the nicest people I think I've EVER met. It's very clear, customer service and comfort is of utmost importance to the Anderson family. When Jeff escorted us to our room, we were speechless! We were told we had booked their #1 room and #1 it was! The view was spectacular & comforts endless! The time and detail to creature comforts here was impressive! This was a room we never wanted to leave - and leaving was very hard to do. No doubt, we will be back!!! Thank you Mollie, Jeff & Roger! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nevr2old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Came for a short two night stay to celebrate our 20th anniversary, and when we arrived the Andersons (almost all of them) greeted us, and attended to everything, and when there was an unforeseen issue with our reservation, they not only solved the issue for us, they made us feel like we were guests in their house. Jeff, Roger and Molly - they all go out of their way to make you feel at home. The location, the room, the view, the restaurant all wonderful. But what stands out is how hotel guests really are treated like guests of the Andersons. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 201, 202 or 203 for a full on water view, but all the rooms actually have a water view from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We rated this as our favourite hotel in 2013, and a second US road trip allowed us to plan to visit again. Molly, Jeff & Roger all came out to greet us when we arrived like returning friends, the room (a bay view) was to die for, a meal at the Galley excellent, and we have promised to stay longer on our next visit. It may be a long way, but we'll be back !
Superb

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you happen to be driving the coastal highway between San Diego and San Francisco like we did on our vacation, Morro Bay is a great town to spend the night. The Anderson Inn was highly recommended as the place to stay, and we were not disappointed. From the time we met Jeff, we were well taken care of. When he realized we would be arriving late, he made sure the restaurant we had reservations at was aware and made the necessary changes. When we arrived, he personally gave us a tour of our rooms. He told us the Inn is run by him and his siblings and you felt like you were staying with family rather than a hotel. We met his sister in the morning, and her personality was just as warm. In fact, this town was unreal with how friendly everyone seemed to be (I'm talking about strangers along the street). They recommended a breakfast spot and the service was unbelievably excellent. Also, the view outside of the room was killer. There is this amazing rock that rises and falls in the near distance. It is really cool to see the sun set behind it. If you are looking for a family spot to spend the night, I couldn't recommend the Anderson Inn more.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of "The Rock"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in an overwater room. We had a good idea of what to expect and we were not disappointed. The room itself was light, airy and well furnished with great views from the windows and balcony. The bed was very comfortable (which is the most important thing in my book), and the room was a haven of comfort after a long days drive. Oh and my wife loved the bathroom!

The check-in was very welcoming and as others have suggested it seemed as if for 2 short days we were part of the family. Restaurant recommendations were forthcoming as were sightseeing tips including seeing the sea otters.

All in all a blissful 2 days which we'd love to repeat one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlee0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing