We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great reviews are well deserved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Save
You added Anderson Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great reviews are well deserved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here overnight on the drive down Highway 1 from San Francisco to L.A. We had seen the great reviews of this hotel and made a booking. When we arrived we were greeted by one of the owners, Jeff couldn't be more welcoming, he carefully showed us all of the details of the room and made helpful suggestions about what to do in the town. The room was a family room with two double beds. It was clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable. The views from the balcony to "the rock" were lovely particularly as the sun set. This hotel is right on the bay front, but the room was silent. Jeff even came out and took photos with our camera when we left with us and the rock in the background. He gave us drinks and apples for the journey which was a nice touch. Some people say it is expensive and sure there are cheaper places in the town, but you get what you pay for. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DwightDEisenhower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
133
330
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We drove from Los Angeles having travelled from Australia. Our welcome at Anderson Inn could not have been more inviting. Our room was superb on the upper level overlooking the water. To our delight the local sea lions kept us entertained. The room was well appointed and extremely comfortable. Molly helped us with local knowledge about eateries (special mention to Frankie and Lola's Diner) and sights. A terrific beginning to our trip in California.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Anderson Inn is a true gem! Prior to our visit we contacted the Inn to ask for help with some arrangements (we visited during Christmas so we were looking for a nice place to have Christmas dinner). We had a very nice conversation over email with the owners, they were very helpful, booked table at a very nice restaurant nearby, gave us some tips for our trip down Highway 1 etc.

The reception was the best possible. We were taken care of by the perfect gentleman, Bud, 88 years old. In our room we found Christmas gifts for our children and everything was very beautiful. The staff is perfect and makes this beautiful little Inn something to really remember and a place to come back to.

Morro Bay is a very nice little town with lots of friendly people. Well worth a stay. Only regret is that we did not stay at least one more night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredrikw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at the Anderson In. In two rooms with our children. The hosts were extremely welcoming and the rooms were nicely appointed. My big concern is that the hotel is open to the public (the stairs to the bedrooms have no security and anyone can walk up to the rooms). This was a MAJOR concern to me as our children's room was located several rooms away from ours. This did not make for a good nights sleep. Morro Bay rock is stunning but overall, Morro Bay was missable. Oh a the beautiful pictures of the hotel with the rock omit the large factory type building down the road,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McMillanFamilynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Anderson Inn back in July as part of our road trip from Denver to LA. I wish that I could find a justification to go back there !
From my initial phone call, through our arrival, stay and departure, the Andersons were perfect hosts. Their hotel is superb, the restaurant served excellent food; all in all a wonderful experience.
The rooms are really well prepared, beds & linen are excellent quality, extending the detail through to binoculars to watch the seals & otters in the bay.
Jeff, many thanks & I will find a reason to be in Morro Bay again

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

They only have 8 rooms but it is obvious by all the little touches that it is family run and also extremely well run. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and even checked what sort of milk we would like with our morning coffee. If stopping in Morro Bay I can highly recommend the Anderson Inn

Room Tip: Have dinner at the attached restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Well, I should say it rock, but that doesn't sound right, even though the main attraction is the big rock. Our room faced the rock and all rooms have the ocean and rock view.

The owners are extremely nice and it's obvious that they love their business and care about their guests' comfort. Nice, big, well appointed rooms even come with a pair of binoculars to help you check out the sea lions and otters. There are even earplugs in the desk just in case the sea lions are barking too loudly for your tastes. We were not bothered by their barking as the patio doors did a good job of blocking the sound. We were a bit concerned about the very loud music coming from the bar next door, but fortunately they shut that down a little after 11:00 PM.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms so all are good. We were upstairs on the southwest corner. Our friends in the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing