We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a great little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a small (8 rooms) hotel, which is extremely well run by its owners Molly Anderson and her brothers. The Andersons must be among the best innkeepers anywhere; they are extremely friendly, helpful, and just plain nice.

During my stay everything was perfect, from check in to check out. The room was large, very clean, with more amenities than I expected, and it directly overlooked the water, which means that the view was great. Seeing the sunset from my room was spectacular.

I only regret that I was able to stay just one night at this hotel gem. I have no doubt that Anderson Inn is THE place to stay in the Morro Bay area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
139
340
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were greeted with the owners the moment we walked in... They are so friendly and told us how the property was run and how they just renovated. It's owned by 2 brother and 1 sister and they manage the property very well.
There's nothing much to do in Morro Bay so we actually only stayed there for 1 night but it was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrapTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We live here in town and chose the Anderson Inn for an overnight stay-cation, and because the Inn is actually run by the Anderson family. After a VERY nice check-in, we were in room 203 over the water which faces out to the bay and sand spit. As soon as went entered the room and the door shut, we looked at each other and said, "doesn't it really feel like we're away"! The room was very large and inviting, big bathroom with jacuzzi tub, walk in shower, robes, and a balcony with fantastic views. We went into the Galley restaurant downstairs for a couple cocktails, talk about proper sized glasses with a proper dose of booze, and genuine friendly servers too. Since the Inn is in the middle of the Embarcadero, you just walk right out and there you have everything any way you turn. It's the perfect location. We will do this again for sure.

Room Tip: call and ask questions, they are more than willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdDogPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great room - a Premium Room on the second floor, and we got a rollaway bed for my daughter. The room was very nice, very clean, and the view was magnificent. We saw seals swimming in the bay below us.

We felt very welcome by the Andersons, and would stay here on any return visit.

We also had dinner at the Galley restaurant next door, which was pretty good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, who's owners make you feel welcome from the offset. Both Molly and Jeff were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the local area.
Highly recommended and will return if we are in that neck of the woods again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L4uCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore,CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This lovely, upscale inn on the waterfront has to have the most welcoming, caring owners I have ever encountered. At check in, I was greeted by Roger who took me up to our room and showed me around, explaining how to work the triple-head shower, heating, and how to get in-touch overnight, if necessary. It felt like I was an invited and welcome guest in someone's home where I could feel comfortable kicking back and putting my feet up (easy to do on the comfortable chaise lounge in the room). The Inn is run by Roger and his sister Molly, with brother Jeff, who runs the adjacent Galley restaurant, also helping (met Jeff in the morning when we checked out). The room was spacious, with a vaulted ceiling, and balcony overlooking the bay and famous Morro Rock. The bathroom is gorgeous, with a huge walk-in shower with - no kidding - three shower heads at three different levels. The bed was comfortable, robes are provided and all-in-all, this is a fine place to stay - made memorable by the warm, gracious and attentive owners. All rooms are on the second floor, with the resturant taking up part of the ground floor (great place to eat, BTW - reviewed separately).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trippingtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This family run inn has only a few rooms, but if you can get one I recommend it. All have a view of the Morro Bay / Rock from what I could tell. The brothers and sister who seem to always be on site are friendly and clearly customer focused. But at the end of the day, you want a good night's sleep - and this establishment delivers. Quality bedding - comfortable mattress, high quality linens, nice feather pillows - is a huge plus here. Also, excellent bath robes, a coffee maker (with milk provided - nice touch), and wonderful shower (three heads and huge). I can be very picky and the only complaints I have are as follows: no HBO channel (that I could find), no online movies to buy on the TV, no bath tub (but great shower) and (not under their control) early morning delivery trucks (expect to be woken at 7am daily with food deliveries to the onsite and next door restaurant (though if they could get the trucks to park on the street, not pull in alongside the rooms that would be good). We ate at the Galley Restaurant (in the same building) - see separate review. Parking for all residents on site. All in all, highly recommended. I can't imagine staying elsewhere in this town.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing