We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich region
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, great rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Anderson Inn during our Highway 1 trip from LA to San Francisco.

First of all, Morro Bay is a nice spot to rest for a night. Morro Rock and the Beach are worth a short visit. The village is cute and features some nice stores. One thing that you most probably don't see on the tourist promotional picties is the super ugly power station close to the village, but you get used to that after a while.

We chose the Anderson Inn based on the Trip Avisor comments and we would go there again. We had a beautiful premium room with a nice view over the Bay. The room is very cozy, modern and equipped with great features like a fireplace and a little spa/bathtub. The owner Jeff Anderson is also very helpful gave us some good hints on what to do in Morro Bay.

The room is spacious, that's why it is a bit hard to understand why there is only a queen sized bed available. A King size bed would fit easily into the room. But that's really just the only thing that I might mention as a negative point.

Jeff recommended us to eat at the Galley which is located in the same building. We followed his advice and we were more than happy with the quality of the food and the service. Be sure to book in advance, it's one of the better seafood places I have been to.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Donrodolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
140
342
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Family own beautiful hotel with awesome details, roomy space, and great front views to the "Rock". Molly & Jeff make sure that all needs for the pleasant stay are satisfied. They're really friendly, making you feel home. At lower level from the room there a classic up notch, modern decorated restaurant, perfect views thru large windows, with choice of variety perfectly cook fish, savory variety vege's and more. We celebrated our 13 th Aniverssary and have a blast few days with multiple activities. Thanks Molly & brother Jeff☺

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iberay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We spent one night at the Anderson Inn which is on the pier/waterfront. Although it was quite cold and windy that afternoon and we weren't inclined to sit out on the deck, the sun was shining and we enjoyed the lovely harbor, dune and Morro Rock views from our two comfy chairs in the sunshine. The Inn provided wine glasses so it was the perfect setting for Happy Hour in our room. While we enjoyed the wine, cheese and crackers, the seals were barking, small sailboats were racing by, and along came two otters enjoying the current. It couldn't have been more perfect. The owners were friendly and wanted to take care of our every need. Loved the corner room with two windows--lots of sunshine and big views. The bathroom with separate big shower and whirlpool tub was divine. Only negatives-- it would have been nice to have a king sized bed and we did have to close the door during the night because of the seals barking.

Room Tip: Corner room w/two windows is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagunalindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Thanks, Molly, Jeff & Roger - what a wonderful treat to stay at the 'other' Anderson Inn!
Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomfiftyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The Anderson Inn is the most amazing place to stay. The Anderson family is so welcoming and friendly. The jacuzzi bath and shower with body sprays were wonderful. The view is outstanding! The luxurious bed was soooo comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer. This place is definitely in my top 5 places to stay and we will be back. One more, the location doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snikcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a lovely job brother and sister team have done with this family-owned boutique hotel. Beautifully appointed and luxurious linens and well-designed rooms. Great location on the Bay looking out over the Rock and sunset (we enjoyed it despite awful weather last week)! Would highly recommend this place. ENJOY! Great hospitality.... thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful little Inn. The rooms are lovely and superbly decorated. Our afternoon and morning activity consisted of sitting by the fireplace looking at the scenery, the sea lions, and the best of all watching a sea otter eat his morning crab. The Anderson family is very interested in making your stay enjoyable and comfortable, from the cream in the frig for your morning coffee to "free" water bottles. They personally explain any unique features about the room, such as how to work the heater, lamps, etc. We also very much enjoyed the restaurant downstairs, with superb dining without feeling overly done. I mean you can't beat only having to walk up a flight of stairs after a great dinner and bottle of wine. What a great gem this place is!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and book a bay front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlieb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing