We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was very well designed and customer service was excellent.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Morgan Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room was very well designed and customer service was excellent.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family and I stayed in a suite at this location last night. It had a kitchenette, king bed and sofa bed. I loved the layout of the room. After being in the truck for hours it was roomy enough for my 4 person family. However, the sofa bed when opened was not level. The part of the bed closest to the couch was about 6 inches lower than the other end of the bed. Also the bath tub did not drain quickly. Therefore when I took a shower I ended up standing in my shower water. This location was in the same parking lot as an In N Out and a Denny's. Dinner and breakfast were close by and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez4ADay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Dez4ADay,

We appreciate your business and the time you took to write a review!

I would like to address the issue with the pull out sofa sleeper and the shower drain however, we would need to know what room you were in. If you could please call the hotel and let us know, we will take care of it.

Thank you in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
24
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
656 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This location is good if you have business in South San Jose (about 10 miles) or Gilroy (8 miles) or Morgan Hill. The area surrounding this hotel has so many inexpensive dining choices, in the parking lot itself is an In-n-Out, and Dennys. McDonalds and Chipolte is across the street, along with Panda Express. Just over the highway are several other choices as well like Chilis, Jamba Juice, etc.... The hotel itself although it is clean and I got a great nights sleep is showing its age a bit, it looks like it could use a refreshing of the interior, I will say that the water pressure and temperature were excellent (was up at 5am on a Thursday) and the bed was comfortable (not too hard or too soft). There is plenty of room to spread out and a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) could fit in the room. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear heumanntouch,

We thank you for staying with us and writing a review of our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only needed to spend one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, the room was very clean, the mattress was one of the MOST comfortable we've experienced. And the breakfast ... we can't say enough good things about it. Delicious! Your hotel is the only one we will choose when visiting our daughter in Morgan Hill. Great job!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Paul A,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel! We look forward to having stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We wouldn't have stayed here except the Hampton Inn down the road completely messed up our reservation, and my wife and I needed some kind of suite room, as we were traveling with three small kids.

This place looks nice on the outside, but scratch the surface and you have a big, worn hotel that is not worth the expensive rates.

The first night, our bedroom sink clogged. No big deal, this happens. Asked the next morning to have it fixed. When we returned that night: Still clogged.

Lots of little stains in the carpet. All of the furniture in the place was WORN OUT. They really need to start over. The fabric of the arms of the chairs and sofa were worn thin. The chairs at the dinner table were dirty (see pics).

And if you need a quiet room, don't sleep here -- or at least don't get a room (ours was #315) where it's over the other rooms' HVAC units. They turned off and on all night long.

The positives: The bed was pretty comfy, I'll give them that. Better cushioning than most hotel beds. And in the end, it did most of what we needed it to do.

But this level of hotel was just not worth $170 per night, sorry guys. This was a $110 room, max.

I wouldn't stay here again unless I had to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superfluouschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Superfluouschap,

I just saw your review of our hotel and want to let you know that we take pride in our cleanliness and attention to detail, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay, for that we apologize.

I would like to assure you that we are addressing the issues you mentioned and hope that if your travels bring you back to the Morgan Hill area that you will give us one more chance to earn you business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our family stayed at the Residence Inn at South San Jose/Morgan Hill for one evening, as a stopover for the long drive back from Norcal to LA, in late March 2013, and found it a fair value.

Our family has stayed at several Residence Inns in the past, as well as other competing brands, and always find the apartment-like accommodations cozy and comfortable. This is a perfect type of lodging for multi-night travelers who want the creature comforts of home, like the fully equipped kitchen. Travelers can really save on meals if they are willing to bring and cook their own meals, or grab some prepared meals, at Trader Joes down the street. I can vouch that this feature is a money-saver. The hotel, too, is centrally located amongst many fast-food restaurants, if you want that as an alternative.

Having said that, the Residence Inn's look, in my opinion, needs to be freshened up to compete with other chains, including Marriott's own stable of brands. I personally loved the design of the new generation of Fairfield Inn's that we've stayed at on a recent trip, for example. Also, a note for light sleepers, the construction of the adjoining walls are on the thin side. I think this is a common construction feature among the Residence Inn brand, if memory serves me right.

One of our rooms was next to an occupied room and we could hear their conversation, and they could arguably hear our TV, that I used to muffle their conversation. Guests opening and closing doors, foot traffic in the hallway, can be heard, too. So, if you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room at least one door away from an occupied one.

Besides that, most travelers will find this hotel to be priced well when looking for hotels near San Jose, CA.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CI8TCeeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear CI8TCeer,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and hope to have one completed soon. I hope that our service and amenities exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights for a sporting event and had a nice stay. Room was exceptionally clean and the location was quiet. Two things I value. Denny's, In n Out, Chevron, 5 Guys, Chipolte, Wal Mart, McDonald's, Baskin Robbins and more are withing walking distance.

My only criticism is that carpets, towels, and bedding are nearing the end of their lifespans. Probably time for a bit of freshening up soon. Room price is at the high end for a Residence Inn.

Front desk staff was extremely accommodating and helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumpybrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Lumpybrowndog,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and also for staying with us! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. As a side note we are in the process of refreshing our linens, which will be completed by the end of June.

Next time you come tot the Morgan Hill area please choose us again and bring you dog, we are pet friendly!

Thanks again for your time and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent one night and it served our purposes just fine. Comfortable suite, kitchen was great and location was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included but not too great -at least they had eggs. Front desk helped us with wineries in the area and other maps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIMorganHill, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Chutney3,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! We know you have many choices in lodging when traveling and appreciate your business. Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgan Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
Hampton Inn Morgan Hill
#1 of 13 in Morgan Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Morgan Hill-San Jose South
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgan Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose South/Morgan Hill
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgan Hill/San Jose Area
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
#7 of 13 in Morgan Hill
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill

Property: Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill
Address: 18620 Madrone Parkway, Morgan Hill, CA 95037
Location: United States > California > Morgan Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Morgan Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose South/Morgan Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Morgan Hill
Morgan Hill Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing