We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ladera Grill

Ladera Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Ladera Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Morgan Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 3rd Street
Description: The premiere dining destination of the South County serving Prime Steaks, Seafood and Pasta. Full Bar with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list. An upscale, comfortable restaurant in the heart of beautiful downtown Morgan Hill.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our entire family (including kids from 6 weeks up) went there to celebrate my birthday. They were so accommodating, especially with the kids. Service was great and food was delicious. Everyone loved what they ordered. I definitely would return --- good for families with an almost private room in the back, as well as for couples and friends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ojainel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
567 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I live in Napa and try to make it a point to have lunch in Morgan Hill, when we are driving south. We have gone several time to this location. When we walked in we noticed that things were changed. We found out that the other restaurant went out of business and has been replaced by Ladera Grill. The first thing we noticed was the higher prices.

But we decided to try it out. We sat outside and the service was very slow. My wife even had to go in and remind them that we did not have the bread or water. I had the Tortilla Crusted Tilapia with Crab. The portion was small and I had a hard time finding the Crab. My wife had the Blue Ribbon Salad with was mostly lettuce.

I'm sorry to say that this will be out last time stopping here for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Napamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Prices 4 Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

High end prices with low end service:
1) When we were being seated, we were taken to the table and had to stand and wait while they finished cleaning/setting
2) Ordered steak medium rare - it was not: well done on the perimeter and less well done towards the center. Told server and either owner or manager came to argue that how it was served was how they cook medium rare. (Outback has better quality meat and know what medium rare means!)
3) Owner/manager then went on to say it was rude of us to stand and wait next to the table while they were still cleaning it (see #1). Huh? His staff was the one that brought us over.

I don't mind spending on quality food and service. This place give you neither.

Helpful?
2 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Finally, Ladera Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Finally, Morgan Hill has a good steak house. There are not many places here to get a good steak while seated at a table with fresh white linens and a pretty table setting. We have eaten at Ladera for dinner several times and the food is consistently good. The service is above average and they offer a fine wine list. There is an outdoor patio, but we prefer the indoor ambiance. There is a lively bar attendance and it adds to the social atmosphere. We have enjoyed all of our meals from the crab cakes, which can be a meal in themselves, to the beef filet and chicken dishes. Our one complaint is their odd reservation condition. They only take 3 reservations per hour. How that works, we don't know. Now we don't even try to make a reservation. We just walk in and if we have to wait more than a few minutes we leave to go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nefa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food and setting in the center of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hopping place in the center of Morgan Hill is one of the few restaurants with good food. It's a lively place in the evening.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ladera Grill also viewed

Morgan Hill, CA
Morgan Hill, CA
 

Been to Ladera Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing