We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Italian Restaurant

Joe's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 227 Restaurants in Moreno Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Joes has been around in this location for probably 40 years or so. It has changed owners and styles many times. Currently we are enjoying your standard Italian fare there. They have many other items. My husband has had the steak and it was fine. One caution if you like chicken marsala don't order it here. It almost tastes like a Chinese dish..or at least it used to so we don't chance it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AvrilSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 724 helpful votes
“Don't leave town! Joe's is the best Italian restaurant in Moreno Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want Italian with a Sicilian bite, you don't need to leave Moreno Valley. This restaurant is probably the best in town and has a huge menu and is reasonably priced. Operating since 1979, Joe's is kind of challenging to access off Alessandro and the parking lot is essentially one-way, so you must turn around at the rear. The immediate lobby area was inviting and the waitresses seated us as soon as possible. The rest rooms were clean and adequate. A few large screen TVs showing sports decorate the walls.

We had lasagna and meat dishes. The minestrone soup was surprisingly good. I recommend the fairly mild meatballs that go well with anything. There was plenty of leftover spaghetti to take home for tomorrow's lunch. All was tasty and satisfying. Joe's was well patronized by the March ARB military base crowd sprinkled with a healthy mix of construction workers, families with kids and couples seeking a little romance. Bottom line: Its the best in town and unless you are a gourmet (No "Tuscan cuisine" here!) or very picky; you should be happy to Eat at Joe's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MonkeyOnTheWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perris, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luis G”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was a special visit, my dougther wedding diner was cosen in your place and I like the food and service exelent

Helpful?
1 Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
“bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

nasty food. its like chef boyardee italian food. all they do is put a bunch of tomato sauce on every thing and call it italian food. it cost a lot and yes u get a lot but its bad. sooo its not a good italian restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fresh, Homemade and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I just had the most amazing lunch here! The minestrone soup was amazing! You can tell it is from scratch. Fresh broccoli, celery and cheese tortellini in a clear broth. Huge bowl came with my lunch special (not a little cup). I had the spaghetti with mushrooms for my entree. HUGE lunch special portion. The mushrooms in the sauce were fresh - not canned. The sauce was like someone's Italian grandmother had been cooking it for hours. The garlic bread arrived piping hot, too. This is the best value and best quality I have had in years! It may not be Il Fornaio in atmosphere or attitude, but I was blown away by how amazingly good it was in every way. And I am VERY picky!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Moreno Valley, CA
Moreno Valley, CA
 

Been to Joe's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing