We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
EL DORADO HLS, USA
2 reviews
“Nice hotel for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel was very clean and updated. Not a luxury hotel but the interior of the hotel had recently been worked on. The hotel staff was great and provided a nice environment. The hotel is located right off the 60 (Pomona) freeway and within minutes from downtown (outside of commute hours) Los Angeles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RICHARD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Richard O.,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for our hotel. I understand that people are busy and it is not always easy to take the time to sit down and write a review. Because of that, we take our guests comments and opinions very seriously and use them to help improve our property and operations so we can provide other guests with a great experience. I am pleased your experience with our staff and property was a pleasant one.

I hope that you will consider us again the next time your come to the Los Angeles area. The next time you plan a trip for this area, please feel free to call us directly at 323-877-1988 or e-mail us at marklandhotel@yahoo.com. The Guest Service Agents at the Front Desk will be happy to assist you in making your reservations.

Yours in Hospitality,
John A. Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    82
    46
    33
    23
See reviews for
90
51
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Staff is very friendly and pleasant.They went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and were able to respond to all my questions about the area. Room was comfortable and very clean. Close to freeway but very quiet. I would recommend staying at this property

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Mr. or Ms. mrkdog,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad our staff and location was able to make your stay with us enjoyable and relaxing. We strive to make each and every one of our guests as comfortable as possible and to do that, we need reviews such as yours to give us the perspective of our guests and what they value.

If you happen to be in the Los Angeles area again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at (323) 887-1988 or email us at marklandhotel@yahoo.com so we can one again provide you with the hospitality you deserve.

Yours in Hospitality,
John A. Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
1,064 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I held off doing my TA review for this Hotel because of unresolved issues but thought that the time is now right. First up , the front counter staff were brilliant but unfortunately they were not the whole package. We went through our whole stay without proper toiletries because the left hand didn't know what the right was doing ? We would tell them x or y was missing but it was never resolved ! Housekeeping ? Well there was a language barrier, I can't speak spanish , sorry , Mea Culpa !! The location was Great, LA just down the 60 , breakfast was sweet, staff lovely , but , but , but !! We had the misfortune to have a connecting room and heard everything, and I mean everything our next door guests did on their stay !! I raised this my self with Management and hopefully they have taken it on board , but who knows ??
All I can say is what had the potential of a really good stay fell down on some major points !!
Sound Proofing Needed !!

Room Tip: Get a room that is NOT interconnected & ensure Double Glazing !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Skeney57,

I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to leave a review for us. I know that many people are busy and it isn't easy to find the time to write a well thought-out review. I am sorry that you had some misfortunes during your stay with us. Our staff usually has good communication with one another, but it seems we failed you on this occasion. I will not be making up any excuses in an attempt to dissuade the situation. I will, however, offer you my sincere apologies and tell you that we do take all of our guests comments, advice, and opinions seriously, and have already taken this up with the staff.

It is unacceptable that they were unable to provide you with the simple amenities such as toiletries. To that end, I have already discussed the issue with both the Front Office and the Head of Housekeeping and have worked with the staff on their in-house communication. They now have better communication with each other and are able to provide our guests with better service.

I am very sorry that you were able to hear the guests in the room adjoining yours. I am currently working with my maintenance on a plan to add sound dampening boards between the adjoining doors to cushion and deafen the noise. I understand and can relate to how frustrating it can be to try and get some peaceful rest, and having that disturbed by noisy neighbors. That project is not yet complete, however, we are working on it to ensure that future guests do not encounter a similar issue.

Again, I want to stress how important our guests' perception and experience during their stay is to us. To that end, I want to again offer my apologies for the low points during your stay. I am glad that the Guest Service Agents at the Front Desk were at least able to provide you with good service. I genuinely hope you will give us another opportunity at providing you with a pleasant and relaxing stay the next time you visit the Los Angeles region. You can call us directly at 323-887-1988 or e-mail us at marklandhotel@yahoo.com, and have our Guest Service Agents assist you with your reservation.

Yours in Hospitality,
John A. Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Best Western Markland a few times while in LA to visit friends. This is not a ritzy place to be sure. But it is clean and comfortable. And the best part is the room rates are under 80 dollars a night on weekdays. this is about half what you will pay if you stay in downtown LA. This hotel has very easy access to the freeway so you can be in downtown LA in about 15 minutes. And it is also fairly close to restaurants in Monterey Park and Montebello. The hotel has an underground semi subterranean parking garage which makes you feel your car is fairly safe and hidden from view. All in all it is an economical conveniently located nice little hotel just outside of Los Angeles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Mr. or Ms. Gene2459,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I'm glad our amenities and central location was to your liking and made your trips here all the more enjoyable and convenient. If you happen to plan a trip back to the Los Angeles area again, please feel free to contact us directly at (323) 887-1988 or email us at marklandhotel@yahoo.com so we can further accommodate you.

Yours in Hospitality,
John A. Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The best staff ever !! The hotel is very clean and the value is excellent but over everything else is the WONDERFUL staff. Left a competitor and came to the Best Western Markland. Best move I have made. I will be back !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Revele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Mr or Ms. Revele W.,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your kind and high praise for the entire staff. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, enjoyable, and fun. We are looking forward to having you back in our hotel on your next trip to the Los Angeles area. In the future, if you plan to stop over the Los Angeles area, please give us a call directly at (323) 887-1988 or email us at marklandhotel@yahoo.com so we can arrange your reservation.

Yours in Hospitality,
John A. Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

When we arrived we were advised there'd be $100 deposit to insure NO SMOKING! The hotel smelled of heavy, sweet odor neutralizer (smoking? mildew?). Room overlooked boarded up old house with people drying their clothes on rail. The bathroom has no counter space. No extra towels. No space to eat breakfast. Floor in 2nd flr hall not level, almost twisted ankle twice (can't see for carpet). Poor completion of maintenance like paint brush strokes over trim items. Overall lack of care and pride in property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johni824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey Park hotels

Morgan Hill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We reserved a Queen Suite months in advance only to learn day off of arrival that our reservation had been double booked and we no longer had a suite, but a standard room! We'd previously verified our reservation twice (a month before and two weeks prior). MAKE SURE you verify what you reserved and confirm it hasn't been taken away!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
3.3 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Rosemead
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing