We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once Was Enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Hawaii
2 reviews
“Once Was Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location on Hwy CA 60, but the building is old and in need of major renovations between the floors and walls. If you must stay there, ask for a room on the 3rd Floor so you don't hear people stomping above you when you want to sleep. But staying on the 3rd Floor won't guarantee the walls on your floor will give you any privacy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TigerGrad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    94
    54
    35
    27
See reviews for
104
64
21
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very convenient. Very clean. Staff knew the area and gave good recommendations for food. Very easy to find and parking was a breeze! Coffee after midnight! Comfortable bed and WiFi was Free! Thanks Best Western for another nice stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you Scott for your positive review! I'm happy to hear that we were able to provide you with excellent service and amenities. We look forward to having you stay with us again! -Christina V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

When I checked-in, the front desk indicated the room I had reserved was unavailable; a single queen size bed. Instead, I was provided with a "Jacuzzi King" replacement. I was not sure what a Jacuzzi King meant. so I ask the front desk what is was. It is a single king size bed with a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. I was very pleased to have used both the jacuzzi tub and the king size bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Willis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Willis,

Thanks for your nice comments and I'm glad you are able to enjoy our jacuzzi suite.

Thanks!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markland, LA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Closed to freeway 60. Price is good, room is pretty big but the breakfast area is too small and the food variety can add a couple more, there is only one pot of porridge but no side dishes to go with it. Fruit basket is empty.. The staff should clean to table (not just take away the trash but also wipe the table) when someone leaves. We have to clean the table ourselves. No cold water only hot water provided

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Angela,

Thank you for your comments about our breakfast. We will certainly make sure that our breakfast operations improve. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Best,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel looked nice and clean, but under the beds was dirty. Breakfast was good, but the eggs were cold. The staff were very friendly and nice. Having cold water in the lobby was nice. The people in the adjoining rooms were very loud.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thanks for your candid comments. We will certainly relay your message to our housekeeping staff and make sure they know to check the rooms thoroughly prior to allowing a guest to stay there. I'm happy that you had a pleasant overall stay.

Sincerely,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just barely okay. Front desk staff helpful. Hotel had issues. Sprinklers had gone off in hallway, we were there during repairs. Inconvenient but if the maid service was adequate and the food halfway decent, the walls insulated we wouldn't have minded. Not interested in returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear David,

On behalf of all the employees of the hotel, I apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding your stay at our hotel. The unexpected flood incident has definitely taken a toll on our hotel and we are very sorry that it has affected our guests' stay.

We hope to get this issue resolved within the next few days and hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Best,

John Sindal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey Park hotels

Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting family around the area so this hotel served its purpose. As long as I have a clean & comfortable bed, updated bath, air condition, free wifi, & safe parking, I was satisfied. The room rate is very reasonable & includes a descent breakfast every morning. There is also a gym/business center on the first floor next to the lobby and an underground garage. The location is a distance from everything especially when Monterey Park is an area known for its China cuisine. You must have a car to go anywhere, even the nearest supermarket is a drive. On the day I checked out after a 3 night stay, a big tour bus group of Chinese checked in so I was lucky to avoid the crowd.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patriciaychou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarkland, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are glad you were able to utilize our hotel and found that we were a good deal.

Best,

Jason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Pico Rivera
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
15.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
#5 of 32 in Inglewood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel
Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing