We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Cost Not Worth the Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Markland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Reviewed March 6, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night while I conducted business in the area and I had a bad experience. The first room that I was assigned was too close to the 60 freeway (I am sensitive to noise), dark, and had an undesirable view of a boarded up, vacant house. The second room was not as dark and noisy, but it smelled awful. However, by the time I arrived in the second room, I had to prepare for a business meeting, so I ran out of time to change rooms again. I wish I had the time to change rooms because the second room smelled terribly bad. Even though the hotel is a nonsmoking establishment, I am sure someone smoked like a chimney in this room. I borrowed air spray from the hotel to mask the odor and left the window open for five hours, but the horrible smell persisted. In addition, the toilet broke in the middle of the night. It would not flush. After repeated attempts to flush it, it overflowed. Yuck! It was not repaired during my visit, so I had to use the toilet in the lobby.

On the positive side, the breakfast was satisfying, the bed was comfortable, and the door to the room was thick and quiet. I rarely heard activity outside the room.

All in all, I felt traumatized by my stay at the Best Western Markland Hotel. I am resolved to be more careful about the next place that I stay. The low cost of the room ( $109.75 for two queen sized beds including tax) was not worth the hassles.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarklandHotel, Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

Dear Tripadvisor:

Thank You for your comment, and I would to apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay at the Best Western Markland Hotel. We are constantly trying to improve our guests' experience with us. I have already address your comments during our monthly meeting in December, and we would like to have a second chance to prove to you that our standard of service and accommodations are unique and comparable to a high-end 3 star hotel (which we are). If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us at anytime by email, phone, or fax. Once again, I would like to apologize on behave of the hotel staff, and I would very much like for you to come back and give us another try and to see our changes since our department meeting in December.

Best Wishes,

Best Western Markland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

i was surprised and very pleased at this hotel. one never knows what to expect when paying less than $100. the hotel was completely SMOKE FREE, clean smelling, front desk was very
helpful w/ map directions. our room had nice fluffy pillows (not those typical flat spongey type) and the best part- down comforters! the mattress was pillow top which added comport. what more do you need?! oh yes, it even had a mini frig to store our drinks. the maids were all smiling and at the continental breakfast they kept the coffee going and food supplied without issue. there was also ample parking in the underground garage.
connie g.
san marcos, ca

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ccognac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

its a ghetto motel and a ghetto city. Outside looks horrible and the inside smells like pigs. theres a lot of gangsters around tha motel.
ill never come back to the city or the motel. sucks....

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank smackdown1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachmak, Owner at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Sir,

I'm really sorry about your bad experience at our hotel. Please rest assured that since our hotel was renovated, we have been attracting to clientele. We understand that the prior operations of this hotel were not very stringent and some suspect individuals used to frequent the establishment, but since the hotel was converted to a Best Western Plus, we now cater to overseas tourism, business travelers, and vacationers.

We are currently working very hard to raise the operating expectations of our teams and we do hope that next time you are in the area, that you'll consider staying with us again.

Thank you,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

the room is fine.., but the wireless internet wasn't working. called front desk. been told they will try to fix it, until check out next day..still don't work. also, front desk lady give phone line instead cable line for internet use..., i don't think she knows anything about computer...., after complian while check out.., the staff didn't show any care in anyway...., which makes people upset..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWMarklandHotel, Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2009

Dear Fanja,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us at the Best Western Markland Hotel. First of all, I like to apologize for not responding to your review for so long as today is my first day to sign up with the tripadvisor. At the Best Western Markland Hotel, we have had a few complains regarding our Wireless Internet Access; since early 2008, the hotel has upgraded it's wireless equipments and now we're running 6 wireless routers to cover all the rooms and 2 additional routers to cover the public areas. Hotel has since gone under a few employee training programs that emphasized on "I Care" customer service. I hope that you will come back and give us another try to prove to you our new standards in both customer service and our Internet Connection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Spent two nights at the Markland at the end of a long roadtrip in the United States. My room was excellent. It seemed to be recently renovated and included an armchair, spacious desk are and even a balcony. The location is great and makes it easy to get to the major LA attractions. The bed was particularly comfortable. There was plenty of underground parking and I found the whole experience to be effortless. If I have to complain about something in order to provide a balanced review, I would say that the water pressure in the bathroom was rather low. This is a very minor criticism of a very fine hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient. I did not have breakfast at the hotel, but found a number of fast food outlets and restaurants nearby. Clean, comfortable, spacious and half an hour from LAX (unless you hit traffic), this is a great hotel that I can recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Humbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2007

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the end of our trip in April. Our overall experience was good and after staying in a lot of hotels in America I would say it was average.
We thought the room was lovelly, it was big in size clean and also smelt very clean when you walked in which was nice to have.
The breakfast was ok nothing to brag about but, as free cant complain.
The front counter staff were very helpful and even printed us out directions to differnet places we wanted to go to.
The check in and out process was very efficent and simple

The only downside of our stay and not entirely the fault of the hotel - was at 0045hrs my partner and I were woken up by youths shouting/screaming and running up and down the corriders and this went on till about 0330-0400hrs. The next morning I went to complain to the staff at reception who were very appologetic and I have to say apart from being sleepy it hadnt been too bad for us as didnt have children but other people staying had young children who had been woken up and been scared by it all. The staff stated they did try to calm the college kids down who were aged between 18-21yrs -- I feel that even though the staff at the hotel tried to calm them down after about an hour they should have called the police to deal as they and the leader of the group couldnt control them. This would then have stopped alot of anxiety being caused to quite a few people and would have avoided disappointment in what otherwise was a good stay. We were assured that it wouldnt happen again and it didnt.

The hotel was in a good location next to a freeway and so easy to get to all the places we wanted to see in the short time we were there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed one night on our way back home. We decided to go with this hotel based on previous reviews. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only downside is the wall is kinda thin, you can hear people next door talking. And breakfast was very minimal (even by Best Western Standard). But since we based our decision on the price that we paid & the quality of the room, we would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AF-Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#39 of 354 in Los Angeles
1,166 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Markland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Markland Hotel

Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range: $90 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing