We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and scary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Markland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Never, ever, ever again. Thanks to Hotwire.com, I got stuck at this dismal location. Besides never using Hotwire.com again, I'll never stay at a Best Western again (that makes a first AND last on both accounts). The common areas are in disrepair and absolutely filthy. The room, at first glance, appears "okay", but upon further inspection, the filth is evident. The carpet looks as if it hasn't ever been vacuumed. The walls, ceilings and floors seem to be constructed out of a single layer of plywood. Not only can one hear every noise around them, but the ceiling creaks whenever someone above my room walks. My room is directly over the "fitness center" so every morning I can hear creaky old fitness equipment below me. There is absolutely nothing good to say about this property. And regarding location -- be sure to bring your bulletproof vest and stay indoors. It's a scary area and surrounded by parts of LA known to be inhabited by some of LA's infamous gangs. There are no good restaurants nearby at all. The hotel free wireless internet is slower than my dial-up service when I was a freshman in college in 1992. In short -- the entire hotel is a disaster.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank germatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachmak, Owner at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Germatt2,

Thank you for taking the time to post and we sincerely apologize for your bad experience at our hotel.

Since your stay, we have been undergoing an initiative to upgrade to Best Western's "plus" program which places higher expectations and operating standards for us, the operators.

You mentioned that "the filth was evident" in your room. This is very disturbing to us as owners and since working with Best Western in their "plus" program, our housekeeping staff has been re-trained in order to provide a higher level of cleanliness in each room. We will continue to demand that our cleaning staff to have a discerning eye and not cut any corners.

Regarding your mention of the old carpet, we are in process of replacing common area carpets. If you choose to come again, we hope you can see this. We also hope that the higher quality carpet we are installing will dampen noises caused by other guests.

Finally as part of the "plus" program, we have upgraded our WIFI routers We know that there were some bad wifi spots so we are continuing to work on addressing this.

Again, thanks for taking the time to comment. Your comments are welcome and we will use them as an "internal report" card to address issues with our team.

Sincerely,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a budget hotel for Business travellers... the rooms were nice and clean ( carpet on the floor can be washed once in a while :))....the breakfast was OK but the staff were helpful... wifi was weak in evening when many other guests came in but the fixed line internat was strong.... this place is near to many malls and costco and walmart....and ya there is an Enterprise car rental just 1 mile from hotel..

overall a decent hotel but they could help businedd travellers with a microwave

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachmak, Owner at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Jeet_Junior,

Thanks for your positive comments on our hotel. We appreciate it!

As for your comments on the WIFI, this is certainly something we have been looking into. We hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future, that this will not be an issue.

Regards,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed 4 nights. First of all you can HEAR EVERYTHING from the room above you to the rooms next you. It was horrible when your 9yr old kid kept asking what is that noise. Very uncomfortable. Breakfast is a joke! according to them breakfast runs from 7am to 10am. we got to breakfast at 8:30 and it was all gone including coffee. i asked the lady in charge if she is going to replenish the food and she said no once its gone theres no more. I couldnt believe it. What upset me the most was that this Independently owned Hotel is owned my an Asian person becuase the breakfast was catered completely to them. there was 3 large hot pans full of this very bland watered down rice and some other stuff that i wouldnt imagine eating. The cleaning staff did not clean our room or give us extra towels until my husband left a $10 tip then they left 2 extra clean towels and cleaned up properly. i also requested a double bed room and they said they were completely book and they us a King size bed. This place wasnt booked at all the parking lot was empty cause people new better not to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zz281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachmak, Owner at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear Zz281,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry that you had a bad stay with us but wanted to let you know that we have taken your review very seriously and we are addressing these complaints with our staff.

Since your stay, we have upgraded our breakfast facility and offerings to reflect the Best Western "plus" standards that we are now required to operate under. This includes fresh fruit, cereal, waffles, toast, and juices. In response to the "bland watered down rice", that you mention, this is Chinese porridge and since we sometimes have Asian tourists stay with us, we prepare this breakfast for them. However, in the future, we will also make sure that there is enough Western breakfast items for all our other guests as well.

As for your comment on the cleaning staff, we are sorry to hear this and we do not tolerate this. Please rest assured that since your stay, our staff has been re-trained and we are continuing to try to raise our service level.

Thanks again for taking the time to comment,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The rooms were very nice as were the staff and continental breakfast. The location was very good and a short drive away from Pasadena.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendrick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We came down to LA for a wedding and spent five nights at the hotel. Every staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was excellent, not to mention it's free. I couldn't remember when was the last time I have people made me waffle from scratch! The rice portridge was cooked perfect. Together with the fried peanuts and the spicy tunips, it warms one's stomach . Coffee and tea are readily avaiable in the lobby throughout the day. The breakfast room closes at 9am. It would be nice if there is an on site restaurant so that one can get lunch and dinner without stepping out of the hotel. However, the location of the hotel is closed to the freeways and the local restaurants district are really not that far away. The WiFi service is quite robust and is free also. I have no problem working on my labtop in my hotel room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosennay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I booked a stay for 1 night at the Best Western Markland Hotel as I had meeting early in the morning in Downtown LA and had heard that the Best Western Markland Hotel would provide and enjoyable stay with the amentias one would want.
The room was not quite what you expect it to be; the room had an odor and was full of cob webs which really made me question the cleanliness of the hotel. The bathroom is smaller than a broom closet and difficult to maneuver in. The high speed wireless internet was non-existent if you tried to call tech which the front desk referred you to do the number they give you to call is non-working.

None of this compare to the lack of service which the staff provides. I've never been in a place which made me feel more unwelcomed than this. I wanted to take items from the continental breakfast to my room as needed to eat and run. I was rudely denied that ability by Simon the "continental breakfast police" who let me know that they have sign which makes this stipulation written in Chinese on wall by smacking it. They have a huge problem with fruit flies and store a can of bug spray on the table with the food. This made the food appear extremely unappetizing and unsanitary.

If you would like a satisfying quality stay do yourself a favor and don’t stay at the Best Western Markland Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LVDan98Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachmak, Owner at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

Dear LVDan98Mar,

We are sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience with us. We are truly disturbed by the events that you wrote about in your review and have addressed our staff.

You mentioned that your room's cleanliness was not up to par. Since your stay, we've been upgrading to Best Western's "plus" program which places higher operating standards on us. One of the issues we addressed was the cleanliness of our hotel. We do know this is an area we have for improvement and we have re-trained our cleaning staff (and will continue to do so) until the rooms are held to the highest standard.

Regarding the WIFI problem you had, we too have addressed with during our annual audit with Best Western. We've installed 6 wireless routers and 2 routers for the common area. We believe that all the rooms should be getting a good connection now.

Finally, regarding the poor level of service you received, this is again very disturbing to us. Simon, the "breakfast police", is no longer working at the hotel for obvious reasons. Our breakfast areas, organization, and breakfast items have been re-vamped to the standards of Best Western's "plus" program.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. While your reviews were negative, they were very helpful in helping us identify our areas for improvement. We do hope that you'll give us a chance again in the future.

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

dove wastes in balconies....very noisy over night
no wireless internet...or very slow internet only in the lobby...
100 bucks for cigarette butts in the waste baskets without smoking...
unpleasant staffs...very rude and don't know how to say "I'm sorry..."..
door pounding sounds every early morning, house keeping in that early morning? ....crazy!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worstmarkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
4.6 mi away
GreenTree Inn & Suites Alhambra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Rosemead
3.2 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Markland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Markland Hotel

Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range: $86 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing