We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is the best in SoCal...”
Review of Elite Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Elite Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 179 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If this is the best in SoCal...”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If this is dubbed the best Dim Sum restaurant in SoCal, then Asian expectation for good Dim Sum must have changed over the years. I would thought that since there is a large Asian population in SoCal, the restaurant won't serve anything that is mediocre. The overwhelmingly good online reviews is what pointed us to visit this restaurant in the first place.

Parking was slightly challenging. There was 30-min wait time for us on a Sunday morning. Service was prompt and courteous. The noise level was typical of a Dim Sum place. The seating proximity was bearable.

Food was okay, not too salty and mostly flavorful (except for their tea and claypot rice). Do note that you pay extra for sauces - a first for me in SoCal. The two dishes that didn't quite meet our expectation were the ShangHai Dumpling (Xiao Long Bao) and claypot rice. The skin of the dumpling was too dry (must have been sitting outside for too long and the skin is too thick) and the rice was too bland. Also, iron pot is used instead of traditional claypot, which doesn't quite bring out the right flavor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Gable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Gotta go here if you like Dim Sum”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was my first time trying this place, as I've driven by here many times. Definitely to the standards expected by any Chinese place. While there aren't any carts, the staff is attentive to your needs. The Har Gow and Siu Mai are good, which aren't unusual but it the comfort food served is on point.

Yes, there are many places here in MPK, but Elite is one that I will definitely go back to when I'm craving Dim Sum again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Followed the advice on this site and we were glad we did. Couldn't eat all the selections we wanted to try, so we took some home to eat at another time. If you are a lover of the Dim Sum experience, you will not find the normal loud din found in the inner city experience, but the food makes up for whatever is lost in ambiance. Definitely a must try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank McOskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
“Best Dim Sum in SoCal!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

A friend introduced me to this restaurant and now every time we go to Monterey Park this is our go to dim sum place. The service is impeccable, I have never seen such attentive waiters at a dim sum place before. Usually you'll have to hunt one down if you ever want your tea refilled, but here they automatically do it for you before you even say a single word.

The dim sum here are the hugest I have ever seen. Everything taste so good. Make sure you get the jai leung, its chung fun with the fried dough stuffed with shrimp paste. yummie!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hehegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top dimsum off menu and...”
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Top dimsum off menu and Cantonese banqeut

Helpful?
Thank altstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Elite Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing